Increase your CoTN game speed

If you need any help, or want to discuss strategy, this is the place!
Karter
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2004 4:07 am
Location: Portland, Oregon
Contact:

Increase your CoTN game speed

Postby Karter » Sun Dec 10, 2006 10:39 pm

This has been covered several times, but I will repeat it again, since it tends to get buried on old threads

Instead of playing along at the usual 2.5 you can increase your game speed much higher. Its done by editing your CoTN.ini file.
Just use notepad or word or whatever you typically use, locate your CotN.ini file
typically in C:\Program Files\Tilted Mill\Children of the Nile
and change your Game Speed Max number, ie:see thumbnail.

I would suggest probably not putting a figure of greater than 500 or 600, I have never used it at those speeds, but its reported that strange things begin to happen. Some have taken it up to 1000. you have ripened fields in the blink of an eye.

typically, I normally run at 3.5 - 4.5, for me much faster and I can't seem to keep up especially in the early years.

Enjoy :)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Karter on Sun Dec 10, 2006 10:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Keith
Posts: 9979
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby Keith » Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:46 am

I used to have mine edited for about 5 and at one time as high as 8. But TM says that using higher speeds than the game is originally set for makes it unstable. So be advised.

Herodotus
Posts: 810
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 7:05 pm
Location: England

Postby Herodotus » Tue Jul 31, 2007 9:31 am

Time to bump this

I needed it again, so might any newer players

vic_4
Posts: 2354
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 9:11 am
Location: Rome Italy

Postby vic_4 » Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:14 am

In my experience too high speeds uncouple harvesting, so you get less food. I usually played at 3.5 with no problems.

Herodotus
Posts: 810
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 7:05 pm
Location: England

Postby Herodotus » Wed Aug 01, 2007 10:24 am

vic_4 wrote:In my experience too high speeds uncouple harvesting, so you get less food. I usually played at 3.5 with no problems.


This alarmed me a bit, so I tested it at 5 x and I don't seem to see this (unless my test is flawed). Would it depend on the processor speed?

Here's my quick and dirty test: I saved a game at the start of Harvest, then ran it 3 times at 2.5x speed and 3 times at 5x speed. Each time pausing the game at the point at which the food ledger updates, which I noted below.

Here are the figures for harvest in the food ledger.

2.5x speed
6098, 6022, 6031...Average = 6050

5x speed
6041, 6079, 6038...Average = 6052

Not a lot of difference for me at least. Maybe other PCs respond differently? (Just a guess)

Karter
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2004 4:07 am
Location: Portland, Oregon
Contact:

Postby Karter » Wed Aug 01, 2007 2:52 pm

I usually never exceed 4.5 game speed
just seems I can't really keep up if I push it faster than that

but, I have never really seen any problems in using increased speeds
though I suspect if there are difficulties encountered,
it may depend in part on which maps or scenarios are played, some may respond differently

vic_4
Posts: 2354
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 9:11 am
Location: Rome Italy

Postby vic_4 » Wed Aug 01, 2007 7:37 pm

Herodotus wrote:This alarmed me a bit, so I tested it at 5 x and I don't seem to see this (unless my test is flawed). Would it depend on the processor speed?

Here's my quick and dirty test: I saved a game at the start of Harvest, then ran it 3 times at 2.5x speed and 3 times at 5x speed. Each time pausing the game at the point at which the food ledger updates, which I noted below.

Here are the figures for harvest in the food ledger.

2.5x speed
6098, 6022, 6031...Average = 6050

5x speed
6041, 6079, 6038...Average = 6052

Not a lot of difference for me at least. Maybe other PCs respond differently? (Just a guess)

It is very likely it can depend on processor.

Khabita
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 12:13 am

Postby Khabita » Sun Aug 05, 2007 12:24 am

wow -- am i the only one who plays on 50 percent speed?

i must be a very slow pharaoh!

Herodotus
Posts: 810
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 7:05 pm
Location: England

Postby Herodotus » Sun Aug 05, 2007 9:30 am

You might find you want to speed up a bit when you build the great pyramid in whatever scenario it's in, because it can take several hours at normal or slow speeds

Azeem
Posts: 3678
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 9:30 pm
Location: Hetepsenusret

Postby Azeem » Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:50 pm

Khabita wrote:wow -- am i the only one who plays on 50 percent speed?

i must be a very slow pharaoh!


I routinely play at 1.00 speed. I will, however, go down to 0.5 just to get an immersive feel of things or to get nice screenshots. :)

Nakia
Posts: 349
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 7:35 pm
Location: NJ, USA

Postby Nakia » Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:59 pm

I normally play at 1.00, I may slow down to 'walk' around my city or with a large pyramid to finish I may speed up to 2.5. I have never set the speed higher. Gives me time to stop for tea and crumpets or gingerbread.

MarkDuffy
Posts: 9232
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 6:30 pm
Location: San Diego, California

Postby MarkDuffy » Mon Aug 06, 2007 12:00 am

Khabita wrote:wow -- am i the only one who plays on 50 percent speed?


Naw, we have a bunch of players who play on slow. Myself, I have never changed any game files & mostly play at 2.5. Slower for closeup tracking.

If you don't zoom in, you miss all the chit-chat & sounds. At close, fast speed people leave vapor trails. :D (In C4 ~ flames :eek: )

Whatever floats yer boat! :)
Last edited by MarkDuffy on Mon Aug 06, 2007 12:10 am, edited 1 time in total.

crash1952
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 1:35 pm
Location: South Carolina, USA

Postby crash1952 » Tue Jun 10, 2008 12:57 pm

I make my living with electronics, and like to tinker. When I read about this on a site, I had to try it. :o I actually even went up to a speed of about 12 playing around! :D But as the city builds, what would happen is the CoTN "time of day" clock would stop. :( I just played around with it, I have now set it to a max of 5, and mostly run at 2.5. Other than the "stoppage problem" I didn't really notice anything else negative. And the stoppage could have just been my processor.
I use a setting of 5.0 when I'm at the point where you have to wait for the people to accomplish something time consumming.

King Faticus
Posts: 4230
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 1:20 am

Postby King Faticus » Tue Jun 10, 2008 3:53 pm

I have experimented with this in the past and I noticed that playing on high speeds increases the chance that people get stuck and also seems to cause 'small' calculation errors with the harvests and maybe other things as well.

use this with caution

Keith
Posts: 9979
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby Keith » Tue Jun 10, 2008 5:33 pm

Yes, I've done it too long ago. I edited mine up to about 8 at one time but then left it for about 4.5 after that. Some say the is unstable at higher speeds than normal speeds, but I haven't really seen it myself.

King Faticus
Posts: 4230
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 1:20 am

Postby King Faticus » Wed Jun 11, 2008 9:22 am

I only edited mine to go to 5 speed but even at the highest it never crashed on me.

camelwalk
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 7:34 pm

Postby camelwalk » Wed Jun 11, 2008 12:19 pm

Even at 2. I get lots of stuck people or people who wait an entire season to decide what to do. Note I typically have over a 1000 people when this starts to get noticeable.

tomnobles
Posts: 1182
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2007 12:01 am
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contact:

Two more cents

Postby tomnobles » Thu Jun 12, 2008 2:56 am

Well, here's another two cents for ya. I usually play at 1.00 or 1.50. I will play at 2.50 sometimes, until the population reaches 700 to 1,000. At this point it doesn't seem to make much if any difference what the speed is (that is, all appear the same).

So, there you have it. Definitely machine dependent. Mine is:

Compaq Presario, AMD Sempron 3000+ 2.00GHz, 960MB of RAM (Video uses 64MB).

Moral - Don't buy a Compaq.

camelwalk
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 7:34 pm

Postby camelwalk » Thu Jun 12, 2008 4:18 am

"Moral - Don't buy a Compaq."

Properitary parts. If the power supply goes poof you have to buy the same model at double the price from compaq since the motherboard won't accept any other model of power supply.

Herodotus
Posts: 810
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 7:05 pm
Location: England

Postby Herodotus » Sat Jul 19, 2008 12:21 pm

Update:
Since the new update resets all the settings to default, this needs to be done again if you want the option to run the game faster.
Cotn.ini is now found in My Documents/Tilted Mill/Children of the Nile/

The format of the file is not the same as shown in the original post. It now wraps with EOF markers, but the info can still be found and modified.

Be sure to make a backup of the file before you modify it.


Return to “Game Help & Strategy”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests