Night-time effects not working

For any technical or performance issues
speysider
Posts: 785
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 5:43 pm
Location: Migdol, Osiriskai: Maritis, Sethat-ib: Qadesh, Rasuten
Contact:

Night-time effects not working

Postby speysider » Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:27 pm

I've followed all the information on the CotN webiste to get the moon and stars to appear, but nothing is happening. All settings are maxed out, and I cannot find a way to get them to work. My graphics card supports the Transform and Lighting technology and works pretty well. I am not updating my sound or grahpics card, as they are the only ones that work on my computer and it does not like new hardware.

DxDiag attached!!!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Keith
Posts: 9979
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby Keith » Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:54 pm

The problem most likely is that your video card is not DX9 compliant, but rather only DX8.1 compliant. The Radeon 9200 series is a DX8.1 video card and while it can run many DX9 games, you won't get all the effects possible in a DX9 game.

ATI cards that are DX9 compliant start with the Radeon 9500 and up.

Manni
Posts: 1487
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 3:44 pm
Location: Berlin

Postby Manni » Wed Feb 04, 2009 11:42 pm

You can`t do any wrong speysider by updating your atidriver from 2006 as well as updating your sounddriver from 2003
your directX 9 version is also 4 years old

speysider
Posts: 785
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 5:43 pm
Location: Migdol, Osiriskai: Maritis, Sethat-ib: Qadesh, Rasuten
Contact:

Postby speysider » Thu Feb 05, 2009 9:44 am

Could someone tease out the following info from the DxDiag?


Graphics Driver Version:
Sound Driver Version
DirectX Version

Link to Realtek Sound Driver:
Link to DirectX Update


Thanks and take care
Spey

tobing
Posts: 950
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Bruchsal/Germany
Contact:

Postby tobing » Thu Feb 05, 2009 10:07 am

google is your friend.

Manni
Posts: 1487
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 3:44 pm
Location: Berlin

Postby Manni » Thu Feb 05, 2009 10:18 am

"speysider" wrote:Could someone tease out the following info from the DxDiag?


Graphics Driver Version:
Sound Driver Version
DirectX Version

Link to Realtek Sound Driver:
Link to DirectX Update


Thanks and take care
Spey


here it comes.....on a silver-spoon..............

your atidriver is from 5/3/2006
here is the latest fitting your "old" card which is from 15. Nov. 2006
in other words: this card is not supported anymore by ATI

http://ati.amd.com/support/drivers/de/xp/radeon-prer300-xp.html

but you could try it with the newer OMEGA-driver instead.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sound Realtek AC97 Audio, your driver from 6/19/2003 can be replaced with the version A4.06 from 2008/10/1 from this page:

http://www.realtek.com.tw/DOWNLOADS/downloadsCheck.aspx?Langid=1&PNid=23&PFid=23&Level=4&Conn=3&DownTypeID=3&GetDown=false


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

directX 9 version from Nov.08 here:

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?displaylang=en&FamilyID=886acb56-c91a-4a8e-8bb8-9f20f1244a8e

Manni
Posts: 1487
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 3:44 pm
Location: Berlin

Postby Manni » Thu Feb 05, 2009 10:20 am

"tobing" wrote:google is your friend.

what on earth is google? :eek:

speysider
Posts: 785
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 5:43 pm
Location: Migdol, Osiriskai: Maritis, Sethat-ib: Qadesh, Rasuten
Contact:

Postby speysider » Thu Feb 05, 2009 2:36 pm

I have already updated my graphics card. I'll do the others, but I'm posting from a different computer

mouse
Posts: 1723
Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 5:21 am

Postby mouse » Thu Feb 05, 2009 10:54 pm

Updating your video drivers won't solve your problem the video card is simply too old. As Keith told you the video card you would need would have to be Ati 9500 or newer.

speysider
Posts: 785
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 5:43 pm
Location: Migdol, Osiriskai: Maritis, Sethat-ib: Qadesh, Rasuten
Contact:

Postby speysider » Sat Feb 07, 2009 8:06 pm

Manni wrote:Sound Realtek AC97 Audio, your driver from 6/19/2003 can be replaced with the version A4.06 from 2008/10/1 from this page:

http://www.realtek.com.tw/DOWNLOADS/...&GetDown=false



There is no download there. I click on the check box and then click Next. It then tells me that the object moved to here. Clicking it takes me back to the checkbox page.

Manni
Posts: 1487
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 3:44 pm
Location: Berlin

Postby Manni » Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:35 pm

Oh dear..........go to here again: http://www.realtek.com.tw/DOWNLOADS/downloadsCheck.aspx?Langid=1&PNid=23&PFid=23&Level=4&Conn=3&DownTypeID=3&GetDown=false

on the left side go on Computer Peripheral ICs/PC AUDIO Codecs/AC 97 Audio Codecs/Software..........and click on there, then ACCEPT THE ABOVE again and go NEXT..................and you will have the driver

speysider
Posts: 785
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 5:43 pm
Location: Migdol, Osiriskai: Maritis, Sethat-ib: Qadesh, Rasuten
Contact:

Postby speysider » Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:40 pm

Which one do I go to?

Manni
Posts: 1487
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 3:44 pm
Location: Berlin

Postby Manni » Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:57 pm

Are you joking? Or pulling my leg?

You take version A4.06 for Windows XP from Microsoft which is your system as I looked up in YOUR dxdiag-file......... :cool:

There is also a READ-ME which you can download and R E A D which tells you what to do with the driver.

You have the choice to have the driver in an Executable file or a ZIP-file

EXECUTABLE means you take your mouse and.................

ZIP-file means you have to unpack...............

speysider
Posts: 785
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 5:43 pm
Location: Migdol, Osiriskai: Maritis, Sethat-ib: Qadesh, Rasuten
Contact:

Postby speysider » Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:59 pm

Thanks Manni :)

Ladymame
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 3:19 am

Advice?

Postby Ladymame » Wed Jul 01, 2009 6:26 pm

I'm not very computer saavy so I'd appreciate any advice on updating my system to better graphics. I'd like to get the sun and moon back. Everything I can find says my system should be good enough to get them, but despite having graphics on high, the best I can get are clouds and stars.

I'm going to try to attach a diagnostic file so you all can see my system. I think I need a higher graphics card but am clueless as to which. I think Geoforce, but I'm not sure. Either way, I'm probably going to have to buy some new hardware to figure out how to install; I don't think I can get by with downloading updated drivers anymore. :(

Thank you for any help you can give. :D
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Manni
Posts: 1487
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 3:44 pm
Location: Berlin

Postby Manni » Wed Jul 01, 2009 8:26 pm

Hello Ladymame

NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GTS with Display Memory: 256.0 MB
your video driver is old from 6/1/2007 version 158.51

You can install the latest version 186.18 Release Date: July 2, 2009
from here:

http://www.nvidia.com/object/winxp_186.18_whql.html

-----------------------------------------------------
Sigmatel, which is your sound, has been taken over by a firm called freescale
no newer drivers for your sound anymore

Ladymame
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 3:19 am

For Manni

Postby Ladymame » Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:24 pm

Thank you so much, Manni. I've updated my graphics driver per your instructions. I'm still restricted to DX90c but that's ok. The website says there's a 10 out but maybe I'm reading it wrong.

Still no Moon or Sun; perhaps they've been removed completely from the expansion as I see so many others are having the same troubles.

Anyway, I really appreciate your reply and help. Thank you. :D

Manni
Posts: 1487
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 3:44 pm
Location: Berlin

Postby Manni » Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:44 pm

Your directX 9 version looks ok to me
anyway...here is the latest version of directX 9, it is from March 2009, non newer yet:

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?displaylang=en&FamilyID=0cf368e5-5ce1-4032-a207-c693d210f616

DirectX 10 is not for your XP-system. DX 10 is only for Vista.
and Win7 has DirectX 11

Amun Nefer
Posts: 3165
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 4:25 am
Location: New York, New York! If I can make it here--I'll make it-Anywhere! It's up to you New York, New York!

Postby Amun Nefer » Wed Jul 01, 2009 10:13 pm

DirectX11? O.o? But DX10 sucks enough, are they making ti worse?

Manni
Posts: 1487
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 3:44 pm
Location: Berlin

Postby Manni » Wed Jul 01, 2009 10:42 pm

"Amun Nefer" wrote:DirectX11? O.o? But DX10 sucks enough, are they making ti worse?

What do you mean with "worse"? It`s another newer directX and that`s it.

In autumn will be the first directX 11-capable video-cards available

see here please to find out what it`s all about with direct X:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DirectX


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest