Night-time effects not working

For any technical or performance issues
Ladymame
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 3:19 am

Thanks again

Postby Ladymame » Wed Jul 01, 2009 11:09 pm

Thanks again, Manni. I've got that DX now and appreciate the information on DX10 and 11. I won't waste anymore time on trying to get 10. Also thanks for the extra information about my sound. I've not had thoughts about updating that, but the info you gave will come in handy when I do consider it. :)

Amun Nefer
Posts: 3165
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 4:25 am
Location: New York, New York! If I can make it here--I'll make it-Anywhere! It's up to you New York, New York!

Postby Amun Nefer » Thu Jul 02, 2009 12:53 am

I was being sarcastic silly, my DX10 is like AIDS for TM games, lol. Hopefully this won't be the case with DX11.

Manni
Posts: 1487
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 3:44 pm
Location: Berlin

Postby Manni » Thu Jul 02, 2009 7:28 am

"Ladymame" wrote:Thanks again, Manni. I've got that DX now

Good! It should act when you haven unpacked the download and executed the "setup.exe" inside.

aout my sound. I've not had thoughts about updating that, but the info you gave will come in handy when I do consider it. :)

Stop considering about a newer sounddriver. The firm SIGMATEL does not exist anymore and NO drivers available anywhere, except old ones.

Manni
Posts: 1487
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 3:44 pm
Location: Berlin

Postby Manni » Thu Jul 02, 2009 7:34 am

"Amun Nefer" wrote:I was being sarcastic silly, my DX10 is like AIDS for TM games, lol.

There might be some missing .dll-files in directX10 (when you run on Vista).

It is recommended to install directX 9 latest version on top of vista`s directX 10 . It even says so on that specific Microsoft page............

Amun Nefer
Posts: 3165
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 4:25 am
Location: New York, New York! If I can make it here--I'll make it-Anywhere! It's up to you New York, New York!

Postby Amun Nefer » Thu Jul 02, 2009 7:45 am

Yes that's what mouse keeps telling me, but it's not working for me. :(

Manni
Posts: 1487
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 3:44 pm
Location: Berlin

Postby Manni » Thu Jul 02, 2009 8:23 am

"Amun Nefer" wrote:Yes that's what mouse keeps telling me, but it's not working for me. :(

What exactly does NOT work for you?
Getting directX 9 unpacked or installed??

Amun Nefer
Posts: 3165
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 4:25 am
Location: New York, New York! If I can make it here--I'll make it-Anywhere! It's up to you New York, New York!

Postby Amun Nefer » Thu Jul 02, 2009 4:22 pm

Yup, it's the damndest thing, I can't download and install it. :(

sakasiru
Posts: 1968
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 12:26 am
Location: Germany

Postby sakasiru » Thu Jul 02, 2009 7:09 pm

You can't download it or you have it and can't install it?

Amun Nefer
Posts: 3165
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 4:25 am
Location: New York, New York! If I can make it here--I'll make it-Anywhere! It's up to you New York, New York!

Postby Amun Nefer » Fri Jul 03, 2009 12:49 am

Can't install *sniffle*

Manni
Posts: 1487
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 3:44 pm
Location: Berlin

Postby Manni » Fri Jul 03, 2009 11:18 am

"Amun Nefer" wrote:Can't install *sniffle*

Almost unbelievable..............

after you have downloaded the directx_mar2009_redist (94.651 kb) it needs unpacking in any new created folder (no matter which name)

then open that folder and find the DXSETUP -file (should be somewhere in the middle of that lot)

doubleclick the DXSETUP ..........a new window will open up, say OK and the stuff will install alright.

;) :)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Amun Nefer
Posts: 3165
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 4:25 am
Location: New York, New York! If I can make it here--I'll make it-Anywhere! It's up to you New York, New York!

Postby Amun Nefer » Fri Jul 03, 2009 6:16 pm

It fails for me, I guess I could try it again from a different site... I think you might not know just how messed up my laptop is. XD

Manni
Posts: 1487
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 3:44 pm
Location: Berlin

Postby Manni » Fri Jul 03, 2009 6:30 pm

"Amun Nefer" wrote:It fails for me
almost unbelievable :(

I think you might not know just how messed up my laptop is.

Can you manage to attach a dxdiag-file?

Amun Nefer
Posts: 3165
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 4:25 am
Location: New York, New York! If I can make it here--I'll make it-Anywhere! It's up to you New York, New York!

Postby Amun Nefer » Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:28 pm

I think I've put it here nine times already, lol. Then again, CotN is the only TM game actually working on this hunk of junk.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Manni
Posts: 1487
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 3:44 pm
Location: Berlin

Postby Manni » Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:38 pm

The dxdiag you have just attached is from 6/14/2009 :eek:

Let me have a fresh one please ;)

delete all old dxdiags :rolleyes:

Amun Nefer
Posts: 3165
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 4:25 am
Location: New York, New York! If I can make it here--I'll make it-Anywhere! It's up to you New York, New York!

Postby Amun Nefer » Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:53 pm

alright alright

What the hell is wrong with my page file? :eek:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Manni
Posts: 1487
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 3:44 pm
Location: Berlin

Postby Manni » Fri Jul 03, 2009 8:27 pm

Your used page-file is nearly exploding with those 1985MB !

There is way too much in systemstart which wants layed off.
The finest tool I know of to solve this is CCleaner!

Download & install CCleaner (latest version is 2.21.940), run the Cleaner and afterwards the Registry, you find both on the left side of the opened program.

Then go onto "Tools" and "startup" and don`t faint!

Best and safest would be if you`d do a screeny from that list you see there.
I will then tell you what to lay off safe. ;)

Meantime I`ll find a newer ATI driver for your mobility-video........

Amun Nefer
Posts: 3165
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 4:25 am
Location: New York, New York! If I can make it here--I'll make it-Anywhere! It's up to you New York, New York!

Postby Amun Nefer » Fri Jul 03, 2009 8:33 pm

Lol, I might look into that, unless someone knows of a better program.

Yeah... drivers... you see that's a bit of a problem, the morons at AMD don't have them available on their site and I am too busy preparing for a trip to spend several hours finding the right resource. :( Would you happen to know one? :)

Manni
Posts: 1487
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 3:44 pm
Location: Berlin

Postby Manni » Fri Jul 03, 2009 8:53 pm

"Amun Nefer" wrote:Lol, I might look into that, unless someone knows of a better program.
What do you mean?
There is none better than CCleaner.
I want you to do that right now! I am waiting here in Europe!

.. you see that's a bit of a problem, the morons at AMD don't have them available on their site and I am too busy preparing for a trip to spend several hours finding the right resource. :( Would you happen to know one? :)
I already have it! It is mobility ATI 9.3 for Vista 32 and 64 bit.

But first CCleaner if you please........... :)

Here is my systemstart-list..............4 lousy entries
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests