Problems with Vista?

Anything relating to our company that doesn't fit elsewhere
Magistra
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2008 8:10 pm

Problems with Vista?

Postby Magistra » Tue Nov 04, 2008 8:16 pm

What problems does a player of Caesar IV face when migrating to Vista? I want to be prepared. I anticipate that I will need to move to another system in 6-8 months. I had to make some adjustments when playing Caesar IV on earlier systems.

Your thoughts are appreciated.

Sincerely,

Magistra :)

vic_4
Posts: 2352
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 9:11 am
Location: Rome Italy

Postby vic_4 » Tue Nov 04, 2008 9:36 pm

I have not had any problem going to Vista, but you have to get last drivers and have at least 2Gb of RAM.

spidus
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: market lavington/onnile osirisnehk cites antinoopolis /karanis

Postby spidus » Thu Nov 06, 2008 9:45 pm

remember to install directx from the C4 disc

Solice
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 1:42 am
Location: Hail to the sun god, he's a real fun god. Ra Ra Ra
Contact:

Postby Solice » Wed Dec 03, 2008 8:31 pm

I have a lot of problems with vista, none of which are related to TM games. But thats another topic

Pat D.
Posts: 531
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Postby Pat D. » Thu Dec 04, 2008 3:29 pm

I have ZERO problems with Vista (using Ultimate 64-bit) on ANY game or with ANY application. C4 works GREAT on it!

pat!

radiocrow
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 2:04 am

Vista won't read ROTMK

Postby radiocrow » Fri Feb 13, 2009 2:08 am

My new computer won't recognize ROTMK so I can't even attempt to install it. Please help cuz I really love this game and would love to be able to keep playing it. :(

pcgamer2
Posts: 385
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 2:13 am
Location: California

Postby pcgamer2 » Fri Feb 13, 2009 2:56 am

C4 works perfectly fine on vista

Rnett
Posts: 1593
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 6:21 am
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Postby Rnett » Sat Feb 14, 2009 11:36 pm

C4 & Emperor are 2 different animals.

Trium
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 10:04 pm

Postby Trium » Sun Feb 15, 2009 11:51 pm

There is an issue, and by coincidence I have just been posting elsewhere about it. Whether it amounts to a 'problem' - well, that depends.

Microsoft have long been advising developers of their plans for the future regarding the writing of application data (such as saved games, configuration files, high-score lists, etc). Vista finally enforces what developers should have (but often haven't) been conforming to for long enough.

Applications may not write to C:\Program Files or its subdirectories (except during actual installation). This means that on Vista you will not find your saved games in your saved games folder. Instead you will need to navigate to C:\Users\username\AppData\Local\Virtual Store\Program Files\Sierra\Caesar IV\Data\Saved Games.

This sometimes befuddles users who look in their Saved Games folder and can't find files. Your choices are (a) get used to it (which you will) or (b) don't accept the default installation path and install the game outside of Program Files.

Other than that, C4 works fine on Vista :)
Last edited by Trium on Sun Feb 15, 2009 11:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

goonsquad
Posts: 539
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 11:01 am

Postby goonsquad » Mon Feb 23, 2009 10:23 am

I had a problem on Vista when designing the Aisle of Plenty C4 contest.

When working on the map in the C4 editor, the editor crashed when I attempted to save, and overwrote the scn file with one of zero bytes. In other words, I lost many many hours of work.

I have no idea whether this was the fault of Vista or of the C4 editor itself but it was annoying enough that I returned the Vista laptop I had bought and replaced it with one running XP.

I have used C4 and its editor under Windows 2000 and XP and while I've had crashes, I've never had this happen previously or since.


Return to “The Tilted Mill”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest