Have an idea, no idea where to start, came to the professionals, asking questions

Anything relating to our company that doesn't fit elsewhere
Lindsay4410

Have an idea, no idea where to start, came to the professionals, asking questions

Postby Lindsay4410 » Sat Aug 10, 2013 3:13 am

Hey Everyone.
This is my first post! Hurray!
I'm Lindsay, I'm a graduate student at the Academy of Art University in San Francisco, getting my master's in game design.
I'm a 3d prop and environment modeler.

In addition to job hunting, I want to make a game (as so many of us do!). I came here because Tilted Mill has made many of the games I'm interested in making: city builders.

I couldn't get enough of em back in the day. Caesars I, II, III, IV, Pharoah, Zeus, CivCity Rome, all the Sim Cities, Sim Town, even the RollerCoaster Tycoons. Love em. I still play them all the time.

So... I've got an idea. I've got a game I want to make. I've got passion, I've got talent, I've got a good head on my shoulders, and I want to make me a city builder that I can call my own.

I realize that posting on a forum of a company that indeed makes these games might seem counter productive. Why would they help me, when I'm not a part of their company? I have no idea. I had to start somewhere, and I figured I'd start here.

I'm going to need a team since art and story can only get you so far. And I'm going to need a direction since I have no idea how to get started. I just know that one of my goals in life (Right up there with "go to college", "get married" "own a home" and "learn to bake") is to make a city builder. These games have been a passion of mine since I first started playing games. Now that I'm nearing the completion of my education, I think I'm ready to do embark on this path that leads to one of my life's wishes.

So with all that said --

Whatcha think?