New PC won't accept the original disc

For demo technical or performance issues
ampora
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 3:52 pm

New PC won't accept the original disc

Postby ampora » Sat Aug 02, 2008 5:40 pm

Hi
I have bought myself a new PC to play this game at its full potential or so I thought, and sadly I find the the PC doesn't recognise the disc as I get this message.
"Please insert original disc instead of a backup". and refers me to a website http://www.securom.com I tried following the instructions here but I don't know which channel my CD/DVD drive is connected so the problem persists, and I can't play the game, although sometimes it does play, I think just to annoy me. The disc is pristine with no marks on it.
I had a shop custom build my PC with the very best of everything, telling them that I intended it to be my last PC before I die (tongue in cheek of course), the video card was the best they had a Nividia Geforce 8500GT, the whole package cost me 1200 euros. I was surprised to get the black screen when loading the game on the ocasions it played as the previous threads suggested this was due to low end cards which mine is not. Can someone help me out here and tell me if there is anything I can do or have I just wasted my money, my life was so much simpler before I got hooked on this game. I have attached my DXdiag file for you to look at.
Thanks.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Keith
Posts: 9965
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby Keith » Sat Aug 02, 2008 6:21 pm

If you are talking about the IDE channel, the instructions have to do the same to both so start with the primary IDE channel then repeat on the secondary IDE channel.

Did you actually do all the steps starting with #1 and working your way down the list? Don't just skip through it cherry picking the ones you like.

Here are the full instructions again (unfortunately they don't cover Vista, but it should be something similar to XP would be my guess. You may have to refer to the Windows Vista HELP program to find or on to use certain utilities mentioned below.):

Some systems may encounter various conflicts with the SecuROM copy protection that is placed on the World in Conflict program disk(s).
This may be related to a conflict between your system and SecuROM.
1. Please make sure the original CD/DVD is in the drive when launching the game, because copies or backups can cause errors.
2. Please try running the game from your other CD/DVD/CD-RW drive if you have more than one drive.
3. Use MSCONFIG to close applications at startup, and then try the game again.
Before starting the game go on the desktop to START/RUN and type in 'msconfig'.
When the menu appears, click on the GENERAL tab, if it is not already at the front. Under STARTUP SELECTION, select SELECTIVE STARTUP, and UNCHECK the selection LOAD STARTUP ITEMS. Click APPLY and then OK, and reboot the system and retry the game.
At any time, you can always go back into the MSCONFIG menu to change back to NORMAL STARTUP, or SELECTIVE STARTUP and replace the checkmark next to LOAD STARTUP ITEMS.
4. Update the firmware for CD or DVD-ROM drive.
Some manufacturers have resolved this issue with firmware upgrades for the CD-ROM or DVD-ROM drive. Contact either the computer or CD-ROM/DVD-ROM manufacturer for the firmware upgrade and instructions on applying this upgrade.
5. This problem can also result from conflicts with outdated or incompatible driver software for the sound or video card. Always be sure that the computer has the latest drivers for the video card and sound card.
Drivers are frequently updated to keep the hardware current and to fine tune performance.
To find the brand and model of the sound and video cards as well as the CD-ROM/DVD-ROM:
- Click the Start button; choose Settings, and then Control Panel.
- Double-click the System icon.
- Click the Device Manager tab.
- Double-click the Display Adapters icon, then the icon of the listed device.
- Make a note of the name and manufacturer of the device.
- Double-click the Sound, video and game controller's icon then the icon of the listed device.
- Make a note of the name and manufacturer of the device.
6. Try making changes on DMA setting for the CD-ROM/DVD-ROM drives.
Windows XP
Right-click on the My Computer icon and select Properties.
Click the Hardware tab and click the Device Manager button.
Go down the list and find IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers.
Double-click on Primary IDE Channel.
Click the Advanced Settings tab.
From the Transfer Mode drop down menu, select
DMA if available and click OK.
If DMA is already selected Select PIO.
Repeat steps 4-6 for the Secondary IDE Channel.
Note: If changing these settings does not resolve the problem you may want to set them back to their original settings.
7. If you have emulation software or a related virtual drive, such as:
Alcohol 120%, Blind Write, Daemon Tools, Game Jack, Clone CD, Game Jackal, Xoom Game Clone, CD Space, Virtual 7 CD, Fantom CD or Anti Blaxx installed you may need to either disable or completely uninstall this program or software as these types of applications are know to have conflicts with SecuROM. See below for more information.
If Alcohol 120% is on the machine:
Start Alcohol and go to the Emulation Options.
Select Emulation from the options tree. Uncheck the Ignore Media
Types box to turn off the media type emulation.
Select Extra Emulation from the options tree. Uncheck the BAD Sectors
Emulation to turn off this type of emulation, exit Alcohol 120% and
restart the game.
If CloneCD is on the machine:
Look on your task bar at the bottom right of your screen (next to the
clock). Locate the CloneCD tray icon, which can be a picture of two
CD-ROMs or of a sheep's head. Right Click on the icon and make sure Hide CD-R mediais un-ticked. Restart the game application.
If Daemon Tools is on the machine:
Right Click on the Daemon Tools icon in the Task Bar.
Select the Emulation tab.
Deselect Safedisc.
If Nero 6 is on the machine:
Please refer to the manual and help files of the Nero 6 software to uninstall Nero Imagedrive.
Launch Nero ImageDrive from Nero StartSmart and go into Expert mode.
Go to Extras and click on Mount a Disc Image.
When the Nero ImageDrive window opens, at the bottom left of the window there is an option to Disable Nero Image Drive.
Or
Go to Start - All Programs - Nero - Nero 6 - Nero ImageDrive and when the Nero ImageDrive utility launches select Disable Nero ImageDrive from the bottom left of the window.
8. If you still having the same problem please generate Analysis file and e-mail to: support@securom.com for further evaluation.
SecuROM have a special analysis routine integrated in every SecuROM
Protected executable file. A log file is created containing information about
the authentication behaviors of the drives of the regarding system.
Instructions how to create such a file are outlined below:
-Make sure that the original disc is in your local CD/DVD-ROM/CD-RW/DVD-RW drive
-Restart your computer but DO NOT start any applications
-Locate the World in Conflict in default installation path:
C:\program files\Sierra\World in Conflict\ or the shortcut of the on your Desktop.
-To locate the path open My Computer icon from your Start menu or from your Desktop
-Open your Local Disc C:\ and then Program Files folder
-Open Sierra folder and then go to WiC directory
-Locate wic.exe file and then right-click on it context menu will appear
-Select "LAUNCH ANALYSIS" within that menu
-After the selection a disclaimer window will appear on your screen, to proceed, please click the YES button
-This 'analysis' will now generate an 'AnalysisLog.sr0' file within the root of your C:\ drive.
Open My Computer and then your C driver that's where the AnalysisLog.sr0 file should be.
-Please zip the file (to avoid email corruption) by using compression utility programs such as WinZip, Winace or Pkzip
-You can download those freeware or trial downloads from:
http://www.winzip.com , http://www.winace.com or http://www.pkware.com
-Submit the Zip file to: support@securom.com for evaluation along with World in Conflict in subject line.
Generating the analysis file has been developed with your personal interest in mind to check for possible hardware and/or software incompatibility on your PC.
Data will be compared with the SecuROM knowledge base to determine hardware and/or software conflicts.
Submitting the analysis file is totally voluntary.
The collected data is for evaluation purposes only and is not used in any other manner.

ampora
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 3:52 pm

Still problems

Postby ampora » Tue Aug 05, 2008 3:52 pm

Hi
I tried out what Keith wrote, thank you for that! I tried the MSconfig option and re-tried the game, and it did start, but after playing for an hour the game crashes out, saying C4 has developed a problem and windows is searching for a solution, but never finds one. When I try it again it crashes out in seconds,The shop I bought the PC from assures me I have the latest drivers for the whole PC which is only a few weeks old.
On item 6 of Keith´s letter he goes into Windows XP, as I have Vista I don't see how I can use that info, however in my device manage under IDE ATA/ATAPI controlers I have 4 IDE channels and two others, one called
Intel(R)ICH9 2 port serial ATA storage controller 2 -2926 and the other
Intel(R)ICH9 4 port serial ATA storage controller 1 -2920 none of them are called the primary IDE channel so that thread of info dies there for me. I don´t really know what more I can do. I don't have any of the software mention on item 7 as far as I can see.
As for item 8 I can but try to creat the analysis file but it looks hellish complicated.
Is this problem related to having Vista as an operating system? I was told the XP wouldn't cope with the high spec. PC equipment installed but I didn't think the game wouldn't play I thought it would be better, this is all so complicated and I feel totally out of my depth trying to make it work. :mad:

Rnett
Posts: 1593
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 6:21 am
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Postby Rnett » Tue Aug 05, 2008 4:53 pm

I see no reason why XP wouldnt work on that setup.

speysider
Posts: 785
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 5:43 pm
Location: Migdol, Osiriskai: Maritis, Sethat-ib: Qadesh, Rasuten
Contact:

Postby speysider » Sun Dec 14, 2008 2:54 pm

Vista can cause a lot of games to not work if they don't have the "Games for Windows" logo at the top of the disc box. If it doesn't work, try using compatibility mode for the game. To do this,

    Right-click on the shortcut for your game
    Click on compatibility options
    Select windows XP SP2
    Apply the changes.
    Run the application.


If it still doesn't work, try the other compatibility settings. eg. windows 2000

spidus
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: market lavington/onnile osirisnehk cites antinoopolis /karanis

Postby spidus » Thu Dec 18, 2008 5:19 pm

i have vista but i made sure to insall diretx9 from the game install disc and have had no problems


Return to “Community Technical Support (Demo)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests