Problems with the Game? README!

For technical or performance related issues
Russian Bear
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 11:46 am

Postby Russian Bear » Thu Mar 29, 2007 9:22 pm

Now I really need some help! I've made a permision for every user in my system, and after restarting windows doesn't want to load "start" or even desctop!!! What can I do???? HEEEEELP!!!

Russian Bear
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 11:46 am

Postby Russian Bear » Fri Mar 30, 2007 5:58 am

OMG It doesn't work even in safe mode!!! I'm working throug the task manager! No desctop, just wallpaper, and no "Start" menu! AAA!!!

Russian Bear
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 11:46 am

Postby Russian Bear » Fri Mar 30, 2007 4:03 pm

You know... I'm now laughing like a baby! My PC is dead, only explorer can be runned... But I installed Ceasar on my notebook... AND IT IS WORKING!!!

jen1967
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 9:18 pm

Postby jen1967 » Tue Apr 10, 2007 9:24 pm

Please help my daughter bought me caesar IV today and installed with no problems then when I tried to play it said save error since then it just refuses to start at all
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Keith
Posts: 9946
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby Keith » Tue Apr 10, 2007 10:11 pm

Make sure you download the U.S. english 1.2 patch if you live in the U.S. or the U.K. english patch (they are different) and install it.

U.S. 1.2 patch: http://ftp.sierra.com/sierra/caesar4/updates/caesariv_update_en_10-11_12.exe

U.K. 1.2 patch: http://ftp.sierra.com/sierra/caesar4/updates/caesariv_update_en_10_12.exe

One or the other depending on where you live. Right click and SAVE TARGET AS to download from the links above. Double click on the downloaded file to install the patch.

See if that cures your invalid save problem.

mouse
Posts: 1723
Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 5:21 am

Postby mouse » Tue Apr 10, 2007 10:36 pm

Jen1967 your video card driver is way too old.

Keith
Posts: 9946
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby Keith » Wed Apr 11, 2007 12:10 am

Not it's not, mouse. The 9800 SE is DX9 hardware compliant. It's a model grade or two lower than my 9800 Pro that runs Caesar IV just fine.

mouse
Posts: 1723
Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 5:21 am

Postby mouse » Wed Apr 11, 2007 3:16 am

Keith I didn't say the video card was too old just that the driver is too old. After all when I started beta testing CIV i was using a 9800.

Keith
Posts: 9946
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby Keith » Wed Apr 11, 2007 5:56 am

Mouse, yep, you did say that. Sorry 'bout that.

jen1967
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 9:18 pm

Postby jen1967 » Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:18 am

thanks for all the replies just to let you know I got the game to work in the end wohooooooooo :)
I didn't need to instal the patch in the end I had to do the Hikey_classes_ root thing mentioned in another thread and the double click on the dll register thing mentioned in another.
I should have known better than to do all this at midnight though as once I had the game working I couldn't stop playing it lol
Thank you all once again for your replies they are much appreciated :D

Mastafunk
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 5:42 am

White Screen Issue at Startup

Postby Mastafunk » Thu Apr 12, 2007 5:56 am

Hello Phil,

Seems you are the Ceasar IV wizard. Hopefully you can help. I am following your instructions in the sticky post, so here goes;

Issue
When strating the game the screen turns completely white. Nothing can be made out behind the white screen but audio can be heard (which often continues after I have closed the game from within the taskbar). I then need to ctrl+alt+del to bring up task manager in order to switch to another screen.
There in no visible gameplay at all and I cannot change any game settings. Although when I do click on the whitescreen a specific sound can be heard, similiar to coins clinking together.

I have attached my DxDiag file for your reference.

I would be truly greatful if you could help as I have just shelled out $70 for the game!

Regards,

Mastafunk
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Keith
Posts: 9946
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby Keith » Thu Apr 12, 2007 6:42 am

Intel(R) 82865G Graphics Controller

That's your problem right there. It's not capable of running Caesar IV because it's not supporting the graphic features used in Caesar IV. Most chipsets such as these are insufficient to run the game.

What model Dell do you have? The DE051 is the motherboard ID not the computer name and model. Dimension 3000? 2350? 4000?

Is this a desktop or laptop?

If your motherboard has a AGP or PCI-express video card slot you can upgrade to a true video card like ATI or nVidia. However, a lot of the comptuers coming out with chipsets do not have such slots and in that case you are out of luck.

Mastafunk
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 5:42 am

Thank you both

Postby Mastafunk » Thu Apr 12, 2007 11:05 am

Hi Keith and Phil,

Thank you both for your help. I am not really sure what I should be looking for?
I am opening up the box now but not really sure what to look for.
Also it is a DELL Dimension 1100. It is a PC not a laptop

Thanks again

Mastafunk

Keith
Posts: 9946
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby Keith » Thu Apr 12, 2007 11:41 am

From the looks of things on the Dimension 1100 technical specifications on the Dell website it does not look like you have a AGP or PCI-e video card slot.

PCI video cards are possible, you have 3 PCI slots, but PCI cards are slow and generally not very good for gaming purposes.

You have one of the later version Intel Integrated Graphics Processors (chipset) which is hardware capable of running T&L and Pixel Shader 1.1 graphics according to Intel.

BUT....
The drivers for the Intel chipset have to be written to support those graphic features. Intel doesn't write video drivers and leaves that the companies like Dell to do it. Dell doesn't seem to write or use proper drivers that support those graphic features.

So in general, it's not looking like you'll be able to run Caesar IV on your machine, unless you want to get one of those standard PCI video cards and see how that works. (PCI and PCI-express are two different things.)

mouse
Posts: 1723
Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 5:21 am

Postby mouse » Thu Apr 12, 2007 5:23 pm

Oh Phil I would never laugh at you :eek:

mtothealee
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 2:26 am

I'm only getting a white screen

Postby mtothealee » Mon Apr 16, 2007 7:28 pm

When I try to play the game the screen is only white, and the mouse won't move. I know I only have 510MbRAM but why is the screen white?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Rnett
Posts: 1593
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 6:21 am
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Postby Rnett » Mon Apr 16, 2007 8:54 pm

You need a video card, larger swapfile and more Ram would help.

GTX2GvO
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 12:36 pm
Contact:

CPU causing (some) lag.

Postby GTX2GvO » Tue Apr 17, 2007 3:32 pm

Well.... With a Celeron M 1,46GHz processor that's not so surprising.

I'm just looking for minor "tweaks" that might increase game speed. (at least a little more)

I know all of the other requirements are met. (I think)

But the DxDiag is there just for people who know how to look at it and give a helping hand. :)

btw. I'm running the game on a Laptop. (might be important)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

mouse
Posts: 1723
Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 5:21 am

Postby mouse » Tue Apr 17, 2007 8:18 pm

GTX2GVO my first recommendation would be to get rid of all those virtual drives. Then I'de free up space on both partitions of the hard drive alot of free space is need by windows to just run. After you've follwed those recommendations I'de increase the page file to 3gb maximum and turn off all the windows eye candy setting the system to best performance rather than appearance.

Catcuffs01
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 8:13 pm
Location: Arizona

Any ideas?

Postby Catcuffs01 » Tue May 08, 2007 8:26 pm

Here's my info attached. You guys write great directions!

I love this game and just wonder if my 'puter can play this without slowing to a stop. Any help is appreciated! ;-)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Return to “Community Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest