Securom ' Insert original disc '

For technical or performance related issues
Buc32
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 3:08 pm

Securom ' Insert original disc '

Postby Buc32 » Tue Dec 26, 2006 3:13 pm

I installed this game yesterday, and it worked fine for about two hours. Today, I try it and it tells me

Please insert the original disc instead of a backup. See http://www.securom.com/no_orig_found for more details.

It's the same, original disc that came in the box, that worked yesterday. Any ideas?

Dxdaig attached.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Manni
Posts: 1487
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 3:44 pm
Location: Berlin

Postby Manni » Tue Dec 26, 2006 3:41 pm

In case you haven`t noticed................

your system-drive C seems to be suffocating: Drive: C: Free Space: 1.2 GB

Apart from that.............antique sounddriver from 2002
ATI-driver is also quite old= from 2005

Buc32
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 3:08 pm

Postby Buc32 » Tue Dec 26, 2006 4:35 pm

Yeah, I know, that's why I bought a second HD. It was working fine last night. Sound. Graphics. Everything.

Buc32
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 3:08 pm

Postby Buc32 » Thu Dec 28, 2006 6:26 pm

Can anyone help me with this? ( Freed up space on C too. 4.7gb )
Last edited by Buc32 on Thu Dec 28, 2006 6:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Buc32
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 3:08 pm

Postby Buc32 » Thu Dec 28, 2006 7:34 pm

Got rid of the virtual drives and the program. But I'm still getting the same insert original disc error.

Manni
Posts: 1487
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 3:44 pm
Location: Berlin

Postby Manni » Thu Dec 28, 2006 9:12 pm

Buc32 wrote:Got rid of the virtual drives and the program. But I'm still getting the same insert original disc error.


What was the name of the program and the program`s firm name?
Look for both in registry/software by hand and delete those or use the "search-function" for it.

Buc32
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 3:08 pm

Postby Buc32 » Thu Dec 28, 2006 9:42 pm

Alright, so I tried taking the CD out and putting it back in. As the CD was loading I doubled clicked 'Play Caesar IV" on my desktop.. it waited a minute but loaded it. Apparently I can't just run the game when the CD is already in the CD tray? I'll do this to play it even though it's an annoying way. This is confusing the heck out of me though, why it will work this way and not the other normal way. :confused:

Keith
Posts: 9945
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby Keith » Fri Dec 29, 2006 9:25 am

If you still have problems, right click on the CaesarIV.exe file and select "Launch "Analysis" from the list. This will run a check on your system and create a file called "AnalysisLog.sr0" located in your C:\ (root) folder. Put that file in a zipfile and attach the zipfile to an email with a description of your problem and the name of the game. Address the email to support@securom.com. They will examine the file and get back to you.

Buc32
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 3:08 pm

Postby Buc32 » Fri Dec 29, 2006 9:53 pm

Thanks Phil Walker, problem solved.

Manni
Posts: 1487
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 3:44 pm
Location: Berlin

Postby Manni » Fri Dec 29, 2006 9:55 pm

Great job again Phil! :) :)

bourne6
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2010 5:26 pm

How do you do fix this? Beacause i am having the same trouble for the game as well.

Postby bourne6 » Sat Nov 27, 2010 5:33 pm

Beacause i am having the same trouble for the game as well. I got the game today and it is saying to put the original disc in when it is the disc that the case came with.

bourne6
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2010 5:26 pm

Postby bourne6 » Sat Nov 27, 2010 5:34 pm

Please help, Thanks.

Keith
Posts: 9945
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby Keith » Sat Nov 27, 2010 9:20 pm

I sent some info for you to try in reply to your PM.

bourne6
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2010 5:26 pm

thanks

Postby bourne6 » Sun Nov 28, 2010 11:04 pm

none of it worked :( i dont know wat i can do but the only thing i didnt check was the update on my disc drive.

Keith
Posts: 9945
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby Keith » Mon Nov 29, 2010 3:09 pm

This problem can also result from conflicts with outdated or incompatible driver software for the sound or video card.

Always be sure that the computer has the latest drivers for the video card and sound card.

Drivers frequently updated to keep the hardware current and to fine tune performance.

You mentioned that you had contacted SecuROM support.

Did you generate the Analysis file and send it to them?

What did they say?

Keith
Posts: 9945
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby Keith » Mon Nov 29, 2010 3:57 pm

1. Are you logged in as the "administrator" or in a user account that is in the admin's group?

Some games won't work unless you are.

2. Are you trying to launch the game from the compatability mode?

Try disabling it. Right click the launch icon on the desktop. Choose Properties. Click on the Compatability tab and Uncheck the box next to Run this program in compatibility mode for.

Click the Apply button, then click OK to close the window.

3. Have you tried reinstalling the game using a different disc drive if you have one? Some disc hardware is not compatable with industry standards and can have problem with security software like SecuROM. If you have a D: and E: CD/DVD drives, and installed it from D:, try uninstalling and reinstalling using E:.

4. If you are using Windows XP, install the safedisc update from Microsoft.

Before you install the SafeDisc update, follow these steps to see if they are required for your computer.
  1. Insert the game play disc.
  2. Click Start.
  3. Click Run.
  4. Type cmd in the available text box and press OK.
  5. At the command prompt, type in the CD-ROM drive letter that your play disc is currently in, followed by a colon.
    • Example: D:
  6. Press the Enter key on your keyboard.
  7. Note: This should change your current prompt to match the drive letter you typed.
  8. Type dir /a:h in the new prompt, and press Enter on your keyboard.
  9. This will display all of the hidden files on the disc. If there is a file named SSIFSDAT.SYS listed among them, you do not need this update however it may benefit other games.
Next, download the SafeDisc update.
Now, follow the instructions listed on the "Microsoft website". Once the update has been successfully installed, restart the game.

5. Contact your CD-ROM drive hardware manufacturer to obtain and install the latest version of the firmware.

6. Scan your computer for viruses.

  1. If you do not have anti-virus software installed, click on one of the free online virus scanners listed below to scan your system for viruses:
  2. http://security.symantec.com
  3. http://housecall.trendmicro.com/housecall/start_corp.asp
  4. http://www.microsoft.com/athome/security/update/windows_live_safety_center.mspx
  5. http://www.mcafee.com
  6. http://www.kaspersky.com
  7. http://www.avg.com
  8. http://www.malwarebytes.org
  9. http://www.superanitspyware.com
7. If you have updated your CD Rom driver firmware after installing Windows XP, you may have an issue with your device running in PIO mode.
Microsoft has released a hotfix update to address this issue. The [COLOR=yellow]hotfix [/COLOR]information can be found by:
  1. Visit the Microsoft Support website.
  2. In the search box in the upper right search for article 920918.
  3. Click on the first answer found.


Return to “Community Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest