This game works on Vista 64 bit!

For technical or performance related issues
templier
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 4:15 am

This game works on Vista 64 bit!

Postby templier » Wed Jan 14, 2009 4:20 am

I'm not having any technical problems as of the moment, but I would just like to let prospective buyers of Caesar IV that it *should* work on Vista 64 bit Home Premium, at least it does on my laptop (via "XP compatibility" and "run as administrator").

So far the game has only crashed once (when I clicked on the advisor tab mysteriously) but has been smooth so far. I've played through 3 of the tutorial levels already.

This is just a quick note to everyone curious about the Vista 64 bit version.

P.S Just make sure you install the DX 9c that comes with the game. At least I did so.

doozerstick
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 12:04 am

Postby doozerstick » Wed Jan 14, 2009 12:16 pm

Yeah, I have Vista 64, but I play Crysis and some other DirectX 10 games so I'm not switching back and forth.

mouse
Posts: 1723
Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 5:21 am

Postby mouse » Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:22 pm

Thanks for sharing that information :)
Doozerstick I'm not sure that understand what you mean about switching back and forth if you mean between DX 9 and DX10 there is no switching. DX 9 just adds some files that weren't included in DX 10 that allows the game to run.

doozerstick
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 12:04 am

Postby doozerstick » Wed Jan 14, 2009 4:41 pm

Well, since supposedly (and that's a big "supposedly, I understand) newer games like Crysis and such are supposed to run smoother and look better using DX 10. I'm too lazy to reinstall DX 9 and see if there's a difference. Either way, its only a matter of time before the games being released will start actually requiring DX 10...

mouse
Posts: 1723
Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 5:21 am

Postby mouse » Wed Jan 14, 2009 7:26 pm

Sorry I think you misunderstand what installing DX 9 over DX 10 means is does not mean you lose the DX 10 functions but rather add functions to DX 10. The mesh together once DX 9 is installed you won't be able to tell any difference in DX 10 games but DX 9 games will work too.

doozerstick
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 12:04 am

Postby doozerstick » Wed Jan 14, 2009 11:57 pm

Hm, I did not know that. Thank you then. :)

mouse
Posts: 1723
Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 5:21 am

Postby mouse » Thu Jan 15, 2009 11:36 am

Your more than welcome :p


Return to “Community Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests