my caeser 4 game wont even start

For technical or performance related issues
dukeofjive
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 9:28 pm

my caeser 4 game wont even start

Postby dukeofjive » Wed Mar 24, 2010 9:32 pm

I have just purchased caeser 4 as a digital download from direct2drive...i installed the game with no issues, and when i stry to start the game i get this error

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: CaesarIV.exe
Application Version: 1.1.0.0
Application Timestamp: 4513038d
Fault Module Name: CaesarIV.exe
Fault Module Version: 1.1.0.0
Fault Module Timestamp: 4513038d
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 00baa98e
OS Version: 6.0.6002.2.2.0.768.3
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 78e1
Additional Information 2: 26ac31a46de47597300425e1ed5f8f20
Additional Information 3: 3fa8
Additional Information 4: 5138ac16c04b74e44fe3d1ecf058187e

i use vista 32 bit...on a good computer, i followed the instruction on the direct2drive support site for this game on how to install the game and it still wont even start

plz help me

Keith
Posts: 9965
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby Keith » Wed Mar 24, 2010 9:56 pm

Since you have a digital download version from Direct2Drive you have to get official tech support from them. They alter the game so that it can be downloaded and run without the usual requirements of having the physical disc and the normal security software that the retail box versions have.

Right now, as a guess, since you are running Vista and DX10 (I would assume) a contributory problem might be that you don't have the required DirectX 9.0 files installed. DX10 doesn't have them. You may have to install DirectX 9.0c so that you have the correct files installed.

Use the DirectX 9.0c redistributable link found on this page:

http://www.immortalcities.com/cotn/downloads/patch.php

dukeofjive
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 9:28 pm

thanks

Postby dukeofjive » Fri Mar 26, 2010 2:23 am

for the reply but i just tried downloading the 1.2 patch and the game started ...so now hopefully i can play it...

Tinkerbell
Posts: 5415
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 3:42 am
Location: San Diego, California
Contact:

Postby Tinkerbell » Fri Mar 26, 2010 4:28 pm

Howdy, dukeofjive!

I was gonna suggest that, but I see you already did it. Excellent!

There are also all the directX files you need on the startup/install screen already on the disk, but the game would have checked automatically & installed them.

I had to set C4 to Run as Admin on my Vista Home Premium 64, but with W7, I do not.

Good Luck! :)

dukeofjive
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 9:28 pm

thank you

Postby dukeofjive » Mon Mar 29, 2010 6:41 am

its working and i love the game, its been awhile since caeser 1 eheheh...thanks again

Keith
Posts: 9965
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby Keith » Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:53 am

So, what did you do to get it running?

Enjoy.


Return to “Community Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests