Crashing When Hitting "Close"

For technical or performance related issues
greenthumbly

Crashing When Hitting "Close"

Postby greenthumbly » Fri Jul 25, 2014 1:32 pm

:( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :(
This is my favorite game in the world. I've been playing it since I was 10 years old, the very first Caesar. It makes me SUPER sad that the game completely crashes my computer when I try to close notifications. I changed the graphics to lowest possible setting and it helped for a while... then slowly got worse. I looked all through the internet, checked all my stuff, I believe DirectX is updated, though I'm not sure how to check this. But I put ALL the graphics on the lowest possible setting, which is odd because I got this computer specifically for gaming, the graphics card is awesome.
Please help me. I absolutely love this game and I REALLY want it to work...

Keith

Postby Keith » Fri Jul 25, 2014 6:36 pm

You can prevent notifications from popping up in Caesar IV's Settings > Interface menu. In the lower right corner there are a series of check boxes, by un-checking the box you turn off the feature listed.

In my game I choose to uncheck "Disable in-game Warnings", and all the options under the Menu heading "Message Pausing Options".

If that doesn't help, we'll need to know more about your PC. In earilier Windows up to Win 7 you can probably find the RUN menu on the START button. In Windows 8 and 8.1 you can get there by holding down the Windows key while pressing the R key one time.

Type "dxdiag" in the run box and click OK. Windows 8 and 8.1 may ask you confirmation question before it runs. Reply "Yes".

Once the Dx Diagnostic tool has scanned your computer SAVE ALL INFORMATION by clicking on the button. Save the file to someplace on your computer where you can find the saved text file easily, like My Documents or Downloads, etc.