puzzled by trade & the editor

Discussion and help with using the in-game editor
DoctorG

puzzled by trade & the editor

Postby DoctorG » Thu Feb 28, 2008 5:07 pm

Hi folks,

I've been trying to make a scenario. I've been following this excellent tutorial and it has helped me enormously.

I'm an archaeologist. I also enjoy games, and I've used a scenario I built in Civ IV in my teaching. Now I want to use Caesar IV as a simulation to explore Roman economics. The idea is, I'll get the students to play this scenario, and in playing it, it will highlight/contrast game mechanics with the current understanding of how the Roman economy work (if you think regular economics are dry, you ain't seen nuthin' till you've read ancient historian's take on the matter... gaming economics ought to be way more fun for my students!).

So the place I want to model in the game is called 'Forum Novum'. I worked there on excavation once, and I've always been fascinated by the place. It is located up in the Sabine Hills, north of Rome. It has all the accouterments of a town, except for one important thing: no people. It seems they all lived on farms in the hills surrounding the forum. More about Forum Novum here, and a google map centred on the ancient site here

I duly worked my way through the guide to the editor, setting up and saving constantly my landscape, resources, orders, requests, trade, etc.

I've used the Civ4 Scenario checker too on my scenario which brings us to problem one. It tells me that no security goal is set. I've got one in the xml, and in the editor itself, I've got a goal set for security. So I don't know what's happening there.