Caesar in Exile - A Campaign

Post and download user-created scenarios and campaigns here!
Gordon Farrell
Posts: 203
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 4:19 pm

Caesar in Exile - A Campaign

Postby Gordon Farrell » Mon May 12, 2008 8:30 pm

CAESAR IN EXILE
A Custom Campaign for Caesar 4
Designed by Gordon Farrell

This is a three-scenario campaign that explores the early adventures and political intrigue surrounding the life of a man who would one day conquer the ancient world. Gaius Julius Caesar came from a prominent Roman family but few people suspected how the struggles and persecution of his early years would forge in him a leader of political genius, military audacity, and popular adoration. It began in 81 BC, when Caesar was 19 years old and the infamous tyrant, L. Cornelius Sulla, marked Caesar and his family as enemies of Rome. Escaping Italy and seeking sanctuary in Asia Minor, Caesar began to hone his skills as an administrator and military tactician -- all the while keeping a close eye on the political turmoil that was engulfing his beloved Rome.

FEATURES
- A unique, fully implemented campaign that is played through the “Other Campaigns” option especially provided on your start up menu.
- Three maps reconstructed from the retail game to provide unique military and city building challenges
- A fully developed narrative with custom messages and a historically accurate storyline.
- Original voice files to tell the story and advance the campaign

NOTE: This is a 30MB zip file and exceeds the limit of the Tilted Mill forums. It can be downloaded at Atomicgamer.com. Use the link below.

To Download CAESAR IN EXILE, use this link:

http://www.atomicgamer.com/file.php?id=69255#

To install CAESAR IN EXILE, use one of these methods:

A. If the game is installed on your C drive, then you can right click on the zip file, select “Extract to...” and then select your C Drive. All the files will fall into their proper place.

B. If the game is NOT installed on your C drive, use the same procedure outlined in "A," but designate the drive on which your game is installed, ie, "Extract to... D drive."

C. If this fails, then you will have to extract the zip file to a folder on your desktop, and manually transfer the unzipped files to following folders:
1. Program Files/Sierra/CaesarIV/Campaigns: the xml file “Caesar in Exile”
2. Program Files/Sierra/CaesarIV/Scenarios: All 24 files labeled “Alexandria Troas,” “Myteline,” and “Villa Gens Julia.”
3. Program Files/Sierra/CaesarIV/Audio/Voice/Tutorials: All mp3 files labeled “tutorial.”

Start Caesar 4. Choose the Start New Game option. Choose Other Campaigns. Choose "Caesar in Exile."

SCREENSHOTS:
Top Row - Villa Gens Julia in Neglect; The Villa Fortified
Middle - Myteline Rebuilt and Viewed From the Acropolis
Bottom Row - Alexandria Troas Viewed From The Ruins; Myteline Harbor
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Gordon Farrell on Thu May 15, 2008 4:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Gordon Farrell
Posts: 203
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 4:19 pm

Postby Gordon Farrell » Mon May 12, 2008 8:32 pm

TECHNICAL NOTES

KNOWN BUGS
There are a few small technical issues that you'll notice when playing Caesar in Exile. Some of them I don't have the technical expertise yet to fix, but some of them are endemic to the game and I don't think there is a fix.

1. When a military threat is imminent, you WON'T get a red line of text warning you that a threat is coming, at the bottom of the Chief Advisor page. The way I have created invasions is by using scripted triggers that operate separately from the game system. The best way to double check if an invasion really is coming is to check the "Instructions" message log. I'm sure there's a line of C# I can add to make the red warning text fire but I haven't found it yet.

2. When voice messages are playing, and you're engaged in another activity, the voice mp3 may stop playing. This seems to be endemic to the game. The best thing to do is pause the game when voice messages are playing.

3. Right, pausing during voice messages should be built into the C# scripting, but I haven't figured out how to do it yet! Anyone got a suggestion?



CAMPAIGN MAP IMPLEMENTATION
One of the things I discovered is that any custom campaign is restricted to using cities that are on the same pre-coded campaign maps that shipped with the game. In other words, a custom campaign has to use either the Kingdom, Republic or Empire maps. And you can't move or re-name the cities on those maps.

As a result, I chose locations on the campaign map that approximated the places where Caesar was operating during the time period of the story. Then I fudged the historical geography a little bit, designating the pre-fixed campaign map cities as "Provincial Capitols" that had authority over a larger, nearby area, which is where Caesar actually did undertake missions similar to those described in my story.

So, some of you may look at this and (justifiably) question the historical accuracy of some of the place names on the campaign map... but there really wasn't any other way to tell this story. At least, not until someone deciphers the campaign map code and modders are allowed to build their own campaign maps!
Last edited by Gordon Farrell on Tue May 13, 2008 3:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Gordon Farrell
Posts: 203
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 4:19 pm

Postby Gordon Farrell » Mon May 12, 2008 8:35 pm

Hey everybody. So I've been promising a real custom C4 campaign that plays through the campaign menu... and this is it! This is both my first attempt to create a campaign, and my first efforts in building custom maps for C4 at all.

I hope it works! Please notify me of any bugs or other suggestions you might have.

Enjoy!

Kiya
Posts: 3235
Joined: Sun May 09, 2004 8:12 pm

Postby Kiya » Mon May 12, 2008 9:24 pm

I downloaded it. Thanks for giving such detailed instructions where to put all of those files, since C4 (or any of my games) are not on C drive. Started the first scenario and it seems to work fine. Looks very original, congrats! :)

(I'm in the middle of something else, so won't play it right now, and besides my battle skills need some improving :o )

Gordon Farrell
Posts: 203
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 4:19 pm

Postby Gordon Farrell » Wed May 14, 2008 12:45 am

Hey kiya, hope you enjoy it! Don't let the military aspect of it worry you too much. It starts out easy and gets gradually tougher.

You know I was wondering... the way I zipped the files, it might actually work just to select “Extract to...” and then select whatever drive you installed the game (as opposed to only working for the C Drive). I haven't had a chance to test this. It would be great if someone else got a chance to check it out.

kach
Posts: 99
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 9:36 pm
Location: Wingecarribee Shire

Postby kach » Wed May 14, 2008 4:06 am

I used 7 zip and that is exactly what happened. I have Caesar IV installed on my D drive. I just extracted the Caesar IV folder into my Caesar IV folder and all the files ended up in the right place.

Gordon Farrell
Posts: 203
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 4:19 pm

Postby Gordon Farrell » Thu May 15, 2008 4:22 pm

Thanks for the tip, kach! I've updated the installation instructions accordingly. (Hope you're enjoying CiE, btw!)

Vespacianus
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 1:34 am

Postby Vespacianus » Fri May 16, 2008 3:07 am

Villa Gens Julia-

Can someone post screenshots on that scenario's layout? I cannot fathom how someone can build a city of 1,200, and at least one cohort while maintaining the villa-on a plot of land smaller than Brundisium-if not Arretium.

Hieronymus
Posts: 537
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 9:10 am
Location: Londinium, with the insane parakeets

Postby Hieronymus » Fri May 16, 2008 7:02 am

"Gordon Farrell" wrote:I'm sure there's a line of C# I can add to make the red warning text fire but I haven't found it yet.

Neither have I Gordon... I would imagine this is triggered by the game code that handles the setting up of invasions by the "normal" method in OnBeginScenario.

"Gordon Farrell" wrote:3. Right, pausing during voice messages should be built into the C# scripting, but I haven't figured out how to do it yet! Anyone got a suggestion?

You can certainly make the game "pause" between ticks simply by scripting a loop of sufficient size. This is what I found when extracting the build button IDs - haven't timed this exactly but a loop through of the 4 billion possible values for the IDs took an hour or so to run. You'll probably need to do a bit of labbing with this.

No idea though whether a pause created this way would achieve the result you want.

spidus
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: market lavington/onnile osirisnehk cites antinoopolis /karanis

Postby spidus » Fri May 16, 2008 12:41 pm

mamaged the populasion it is favore that is i faund the hardest to get :rolleyes: :)

Gordon Farrell
Posts: 203
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 4:19 pm

Postby Gordon Farrell » Fri May 16, 2008 5:01 pm

"Vespacianus" wrote:Villa Gens Julia-

Can someone post screenshots on that scenario's layout? I cannot fathom how someone can build a city of 1,200, and at least one cohort while maintaining the villa-on a plot of land smaller than Brundisium-if not Arretium.


Hmmm... are you trying to do this scenario without removing the pre-existing ruins in the villa? You're right, that'd be near-impossible. Clear out all the ruins, just as you would for, say, the Carthage map. If this isn't the issue you need help with, post back here again and I'll put up some screenshots.

Hang in there!

Cartpusher
Posts: 659
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 9:36 pm
Location: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Postby Cartpusher » Sat May 17, 2008 1:40 am

I removed the ruins and built a new villa for Iulius, but I could have won the scenario without removing the ruins.

Gordon Farrell
Posts: 203
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 4:19 pm

Postby Gordon Farrell » Thu May 22, 2008 2:44 pm

"Cartpusher" wrote:I removed the ruins and built a new villa for Iulius, but I could have won the scenario without removing the ruins.


You're clearly a more efficient city planner than I am, Cartman! Hmmm.. makes me wonder if I didn't make these maps too easy...


"Hieronymus" wrote:You can certainly make the game "pause" between ticks simply by scripting a loop of sufficient size. This is what I found when extracting the build button IDs - haven't timed this exactly but a loop through of the 4 billion possible values for the IDs took an hour or so to run. You'll probably need to do a bit of labbing with this.


Thanks for looking into it, H! But it seems that in the tutorial C#, there's a line that actually pauses the game and also makes the pause button activate. That's what I'd like to find... well, must keep looking!

Hieronymus
Posts: 537
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 9:10 am
Location: Londinium, with the insane parakeets

Postby Hieronymus » Thu May 22, 2008 3:02 pm

"Gordon Farrell" wrote:Thanks for looking into it, H! But it seems that in the tutorial C#, there's a line that actually pauses the game and also makes the pause button activate. That's what I'd like to find... well, must keep looking!

Which tutorial were you thinking of Gordon? The only ones I am aware of contain a function to "pause" the script, but all that does is to wait for a set number of game ticks before moving onto the next part of the tutorial. It doesn't actually pause the game as such. I use a different technique based on the game time in my scenarios, but it achieves the same effect.

Gordon Farrell
Posts: 203
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 4:19 pm

Postby Gordon Farrell » Thu May 22, 2008 3:52 pm

I could be mistaken, but whenever a tutorial message appears, the game pauses (the pause button is actually activated) until you re-start the game... I think... (quickly loads up his C4 CD to double-check)...

EDIT: Okay. I was hallucinating. The game doesn't pause during tutorial messages. You know what, I think I got confused with the Invasion Warning messages... and the game pause function would be part of the game system in that case...
Last edited by Gordon Farrell on Thu May 22, 2008 4:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Gordon Farrell
Posts: 203
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 4:19 pm

Postby Gordon Farrell » Sun May 25, 2008 5:41 pm

The question of finding room on the Villa Gens Julia map for all the necessary buildings has come up over at HGS's C4 forums. I thought it might be useful to post the question and my response here, too.

From Pope John 1:
Gordon, I finished the first mission of Caesar in Exile but it took me two tries. That is one tiny map, and I don't see how anyone can accomplish the mission by building a fort. It takes 7 insulae and 3 domii to reach the 1200 population requirement (with 1 villa for Caesar, of course) and still maintain the basic services. You need at least 3 resource gatherers and 3 factories (minimum) plus the farms, the trade port, and other services. Even by cutting down almost all the trees I barely squeezed all that in (on the second try), and there simply was no room for a fort, recruiting station, and/or mess hall. Thankfully, by building several prefects and towers, I was able to hold off Sulla long enough to accumulate enough meagre pay to purchase the favor I needed to win. If you can build all that other stuff, please show me how. It was tight! (It was also a lovely spot.)

I'm on to Alexandria Troas now and this one looks like fun. More room. Thanks for all your hard work in designing this scenario.



Here's my response...
Hey PopeJohn1, I'm glad you're enjoying the challenge! First off, I really was trying to build a scenario with VGJ in which the player would feel like, "Wow, I gotta finish up and get outta here or Sulla's going to wipe me out!" So it sounds like that part of it worked.

As far as the military challenge goes, ballista towers and prefects go a long way, but towards the end Sulla's forces show up in pretty overwhelming numbers. A light infantry cohort is pretty essential for taking out his catapults... although prefects are effective against those, too.

What may have thrown you off is the confusion I created by calling this a Villa. You don't actually need a villa residential building to win. The concept I was working on was that the whole map is Caesar's villa!

Anyway, here's how I got my population properly situated, and still had room for mess hall, recruitment, and fort.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Kiya
Posts: 3235
Joined: Sun May 09, 2004 8:12 pm

Postby Kiya » Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:04 pm

Finding a place for all that military stuff? :eek: I got a warning of Sulla's men coming, but I didn't have to think about solving this 'problem'. :p

Lovely tiny map, ideal for my kind of minimal building. :D
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

D.poete
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:54 am
Location: United States
Contact:

Caesar in Exile A Campaign

Postby D.poete » Fri Dec 04, 2009 10:47 am

I would certainly be interested but not until after the convention is over. I have to much on my plate to even contemplate a campaign right now.

justice
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 11:02 pm
Location: Kentucky

Invalid Game Error

Postby justice » Mon Dec 07, 2009 5:54 pm

This is the first user created Campaign or Senario I have tried. I make it all the way to the loading screen... loading'VillaGensJulie.scn'.. Then I get the message "The game isn't valid. Invalid save games may cause issues if you do not restart Caesar IV. and the game exits. Please help.


Return to “User-created Scenarios”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest