Page 1 of 1

Just Wondering

Posted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 9:22 pm
by pat3612
Is there no way to move a building once placed other then bulldozing . :D

Posted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 9:33 pm
by SlightlyMadman
Nope, and honestly I think it's pretty generous that we even get recycling costs back when we bulldoze. In your life though, have you ever seen somebody pick up a building and move it? It can happen occasionally with single family homes, but it still means re-laying the entire foundation, which would probably end up costing about the same as recycling and rebuilding in the game anyways.

Posted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 9:43 pm
by zero7
SlightlyMadman wrote: In your life though, have you ever seen somebody pick up a building and move it?


Image

Does a 660 ton church count? link

Posted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 10:09 pm
by SlightlyMadman
Haha, that's pretty awesome. I'd still argue that you're among the minority to have seen that happen, though, and it was probably only done because the church had historical significance.

Posted: Wed Dec 12, 2007 12:56 am
by Akodis
It probably cost more to move it than to build it in the first place.

Posted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 1:45 am
by pat3612
Ok thanks just my game is kinda jerky so I have to keep bulldozing but Iam on free play so thats ok if I play the others Id always be broke lol :D

Posted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 2:05 am
by Tinkerbell
SlightlyMadman wrote:Nope, and honestly I think it's pretty generous that we even get recycling costs back when we bulldoze.


Totally agree. Perhaps in the Maintenance Mod V.2 along with the "make less money from workplaces"?

Different strokes for different folks.

Posted: Tue Jan 01, 2008 6:40 am
by PantherX
Money does seem kind of useless after a while, at least for me so far it's easy.

Adjust your graphics options to low and the lag (jerkeyness) should go away ;)


***Edit, sorry didn't realize this post was 3 weeks old, not worth the bump. :(
________
Yamaha RD400

Posted: Wed Jan 02, 2008 2:37 pm
by David Beebe
PantherX wrote:Money does seem kind of useless after a while, at least for me so far it's easy.

Adjust your graphics options to low and the lag (jerkeyness) should go away ;)


***Edit, sorry didn't realize this post was 3 weeks old, not worth the bump. :(


Have you tried the new game-play modes PantherX? (re: money)

Posted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 9:03 pm
by PantherX
Hi David, long time no see... Glad your still here keeping us all in line :)

As of yet, I am still playing on normal, I have done a large city in almost every type. Once I get them all done in normal I will try the new modes. I suppose there is maintenance on venues and I bet that really makes the money tight over time.
________
Honda NSR50R

Posted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 12:20 am
by Akodis
PantherX wrote: I suppose there is maintenance on venues and I bet that really makes the money tight over time.


Not just venues. There is also maintenance on decorations. It is very easy to generate a negative cash flow.

Posted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 7:47 pm
by Techleo
Try running a Socialist state which is primarily agrarian. ITS HARD! Theres nearly no income and the few houses I do build which arent for the farmer caste have to be solar powered just to be a viable society. Very fun though! :D

Posted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 9:53 pm
by PantherX
Yeah I am playing through the awards using the Normal basic mode. Still very easy, just a little slower to get started. I did have a small problem in one city where my decorating was costing a ton, but with a little adjusting it came right in line.

I am looking forward to Hardcore mode. After I get the joat in basic I am going to try it a 2nd time using challenging. It seem like the real trick is getting the right venues per city and not creating any transportation issues.

I would also love to see something done about the 100 sims trying to use the same bus stop or subway and doing the congo dance for 6 hours. And why do they all seem to choose the same busstop when there may be others closer to the building they came from?
________
marijuana dispensaries