New Children of the Nile patch (1.3.0.1) now available

Everything Children of the Nile that doesn't fit elsewhere
Will Jennings
Posts: 216
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2006 9:47 pm
Contact:

New Children of the Nile patch (1.3.0.1) now available

Postby Will Jennings » Fri Jul 25, 2008 4:15 pm

Edit: Known issue: Some localized versions of this patch (those in German, Spanish, or French) may not start.

New patches are available on the Immortal Cities website that update the CD version of the game to 1.3.0.1. They will install over any earlier version from the same locale.

Here's a list of the improvements we made since 1.3.0.0:

- Lots of fixes for French, German, Italian, and Spanish where strings would be missing or have extra nonsense at the end of them. We also made cheats work again in French, German, and Italian. Some messages appearing with a "<city_name>" marker in them have been taught to speak proper German.
- When running the game on Vista, you can now open scenario info screens without crashing, regardless of your user privileges. This will let you start a campaign or load a scenario without any of the fiddly rigamarole with properties and options you had to go through before.
- Fonts are now installed in-game if needed, fixing a problem where you'd lose most text and could crash if the game was updated without your machine being restarted.
- These patches include a fix for a bug in SecuROM that could lead to crashes when right-clicking in Windows Explorer after running the game on some machines.

The Steam version of the game was also recently updated; you can read more about that here.

Like the last one, this patch won't update a Direct2Drive version of the game. We haven't forgotten about that, and hope to have news for you in that department in the near future.

Looking forward to hearing your comments and suggestions; I hope you enjoy the new version!
Last edited by Will Jennings on Wed Jul 30, 2008 2:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

osdeath
Posts: 135
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 6:00 pm

Postby osdeath » Fri Jul 25, 2008 4:29 pm

hurrah, great job

Jodet
Posts: 161
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 4:25 am
Location: Phoenix

Crashes

Postby Jodet » Fri Jul 25, 2008 4:36 pm

Will this help with the CTD's people have been having in tutorials, campaigns?

Anya
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 11:02 am

Postby Anya » Sat Jul 26, 2008 1:22 am

SecuRom? This is in the patch or did the original game contain it?

sakasiru
Posts: 1968
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 12:26 am
Location: Germany

Postby sakasiru » Mon Jul 28, 2008 9:31 pm

Is there anyone having updated the german version whose game actually runs after that? :o

please answer or PM me!

Will Jennings
Posts: 216
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2006 9:47 pm
Contact:

Postby Will Jennings » Tue Jul 29, 2008 1:24 am

"Jodet" wrote:Will this help with the CTD's people have been having in tutorials, campaigns?


This will solve the crashes people experienced beginning tutorials and campaigns, which were the most common ones, yes. There are other crashes we've had reports of (including yours, thank you for them) that we are either still investigating or have fixes forthcoming for.

Will Jennings
Posts: 216
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2006 9:47 pm
Contact:

Postby Will Jennings » Tue Jul 29, 2008 1:26 am

"Anya" wrote:SecuRom? This is in the patch or did the original game contain it?


Both -- if you've been playing the earlier patch or the original game without any difficulties, you'll notice no difference.

Will Jennings
Posts: 216
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2006 9:47 pm
Contact:

Postby Will Jennings » Tue Jul 29, 2008 1:27 am

"sakasiru" wrote:Is there anyone having updated the german version whose game actually runs after that? :o

please answer or PM me!


Could you please email or PM me with the error message you get, or post on the Technical Support forum, and I'll look into this?

sakasiru
Posts: 1968
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 12:26 am
Location: Germany

Postby sakasiru » Tue Jul 29, 2008 10:08 am

Hi Will!

I already posted my problem in this thread:
http://www.tiltedmill.com/forums/showthread.php?t=17139&page=2

Sadly, I don´t get any error message at all, the game just doesn´t want to start.


Edit: Tried to add a dxdiag, but since updating my drivers firefox crashes whenever I want to select an attachment..
Last edited by sakasiru on Tue Jul 29, 2008 10:12 am, edited 1 time in total.

sakasiru
Posts: 1968
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 12:26 am
Location: Germany

Postby sakasiru » Tue Jul 29, 2008 10:16 am

Well, solved THIS problem at least...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Anguille
Posts: 161
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 6:12 pm
Location: Bern, Switzerland

Postby Anguille » Tue Jul 29, 2008 11:24 am

To be honest, i'd really like the copy protection removed...

I buy all the games i play but play most of them without cd/dvd whenever possible.

Cheers

Alizeefan
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 11:37 am
Location: Belgium

Postby Alizeefan » Wed Aug 20, 2008 2:02 pm

Do i need the previous patch also or just this one?

i ask this because i can't find the first patch.

vic_4
Posts: 2350
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 9:11 am
Location: Rome Italy

Postby vic_4 » Wed Aug 20, 2008 2:44 pm

It should be penough the last one.

nathan3011
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2008 10:51 am

Postby nathan3011 » Mon Dec 22, 2008 10:57 am

Thanks for this my friend really fantastic i've been looking for that and now i've found but yeah same as before can anyone say for defo if you need the Employers Liability Insurance before this or will this one be sufficient :)

Thanks for this though guys much apprecaited
Last edited by nathan3011 on Wed Sep 28, 2011 9:53 am, edited 1 time in total.

DDutch
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2009 10:17 am

Postby DDutch » Thu Jan 08, 2009 10:19 am

I can't install the patch. :(
When I want to put it into a map I get the error: "The destination directory doesn't contain any files to update."

Could someone help? :)

Yahya
Posts: 1532
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 11:09 pm
Location: The Ocean State

Postby Yahya » Thu Jan 08, 2009 1:51 pm

That sounds like an error generated by finding the wrong installation path. When you run the install program, it requests the install path. What it is looking for is the "CotN.exe" file.

By default, that is located at C:\Program Files\Tilted Mill\Children of the Nile\. That path should be in the install program when you load it.

If you installed CotN to a different location, you need to manually enter that location at that point.

Then it should work fine.

Now, this assumes that you have the traditional, non-Alexandria version of CotN. If you have the Alexandria version, that patch will not work, as it is for an older version. But any installation from before July 18, 2008 (I think that is the date) should update via this method.

Good luck! :)

Verbal
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2006 1:49 am

crapped out now

Postby Verbal » Sat Feb 28, 2009 1:00 am

Well i have the disc version, never had an issue. Read about the latest patch, installed it. Now it crashes sporadicaly, and i get that securom thing. error 6000 "couldnt open a security module" or something. Any one else getting this? Where can i find the error reports to post?

Keith
Posts: 9965
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby Keith » Sat Feb 28, 2009 11:05 am

  1. Make sure the original disc (play or launch disc) is in a local CD or DVD-ROM drive.
  2. Please reboot your computer and do not start any additional applications.
  3. "Right-click" (click the right button of your mouse) on the desktop shortcut or actual executable.
  4. A dialog menu will appear. Choose "Launch Analysis" from the menu choices.
  5. After selecting "Launch Analysis," a disclaimer window will appear.
  6. To proceed, please click onto the "Yes" button.
  7. The program will now generate an "AnalysisLog.sr0" file within the root of your C:\ directory.
  8. Please "zip" (archive) this file (to avoid email corruption) and send it to our official email address support@securom.com together with a description of your problem (e.g. screenshots, further details).

Acu-Ra
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 9:05 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Postby Acu-Ra » Sun Mar 08, 2009 5:56 pm

Thank you.

Rileses I
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 9:13 am
Location: Yorkshire , England

Postby Rileses I » Tue Sep 07, 2010 8:36 am

Is the enhanced edition already upgraded to 1.3.01? ,if so then I believe I am already patched,just a thought :)


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest