Bluescreen

For technical or performance related issues
maresi
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 12:05 pm

Bluescreen

Postby maresi » Sat Nov 17, 2007 12:28 pm

hi

PC:
scs + update 1
xp pro, newest driver at all components
cpu x6800
gpu 8800 GTX SLI (169.09 beta)
2048 ram

start a new city or tutorial, a few minutes later crashes the game with a bluescreen :rolleyes:

no problems with other tilted mill games (caesar IV, children of the nile)

maresi
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by maresi on Sat Nov 17, 2007 12:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Need_Help
Posts: 780
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 1:47 am
Contact:

Postby Need_Help » Sat Nov 17, 2007 12:31 pm

Please attach the dxdiag.txt file. For your information, its always better to use a 'stable' verison driver, since the beta version may cause problems.

Thanks

majortom1981
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 7:12 pm

hmm

Postby majortom1981 » Sat Nov 17, 2007 12:51 pm

Also post exactly what the blue screen says.

maresi
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 12:05 pm

Postby maresi » Sat Nov 17, 2007 12:58 pm

majortom1981 wrote:Also post exactly what the blue screen says.


can't see (read) it, pc restarts too fast :(

maresi

mouse
Posts: 1723
Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 5:21 am

Postby mouse » Sat Nov 17, 2007 1:16 pm

There are a number of things that can cause a blue screen such as a driver issue or overheating. You can turn off reboot on error which will allow you to see the error message. To turn off reboot go to settings-control panel-system-advance- startup/recovery-settings remove check mark by restart on error.

Need_Help
Posts: 780
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 1:47 am
Contact:

Postby Need_Help » Sat Nov 17, 2007 1:17 pm

Here are a few suggestions :
1) 'Downgrade' your graphic card driver to an older and stable version (your graphic card driver date is 11/12/2007, which is very new (beta version) and most probably will have problems when running with the game)
2) Another thing you can try is to check whether there is any problem with your RAM (I got blue screen errors a few times in the past, and they were caused by faulty RAM). Remember to copy the error messages next time you see a blue screen error.
3) Wait for other 'experienced' users' replies....

Thanks :)

Morpheus121073
Posts: 186
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 10:14 pm

Postby Morpheus121073 » Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:25 pm

I had this happen 2 times, no clue why it happened. It was the blue screen of death and also the first 2 times i ever had it happen on Vista since i been using it since january. However Most of the time my game crashes with the runtime error.

maresi
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 12:05 pm

Postby maresi » Sat Nov 17, 2007 4:24 pm

playing with 163.75 the latest stable forceware, SLI activated, deactivated, testing RAM (no errors), random resolutions. SCS freezes after few minutes, but without bluscreen :mad:

currently i'm playing supreme commander: forged alliance, empire earth 3, world in conflict, gears of war and crysis without any problems!

maresi

Keith
Posts: 9965
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby Keith » Sat Nov 17, 2007 11:12 pm

maresi wrote:can't see (read) it, pc restarts too fast :(

maresi


maresi, you can disable the automatic reboot on failure function of Windows. That way the blue screen and it's contents will remain on the screen until you manually restart your system.

To do this just go to the My Computer desktop icon and right click on it. CLick on Properties. Then the Advanced tab. CLick on the button in the Startup and Recovery section. Then in the next menu un-check the box next to automatically restart in the System Failure section. Click OK and APPLY.


Return to “Community Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest