Does Sim City™ Societies Crash For You?

For technical or performance related issues

How often or not does Sim City™ Societies crash when you run the game?

Sim City™ Societies never crashes.
19
19%
Sim City™ Societies crashes rarely.
23
23%
Sim City™ Societies every time I play.
57
58%
 
Total votes: 99

Jotbolger
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 12:18 pm

Can't even complete the tutorial

Postby Jotbolger » Sun May 10, 2009 12:21 pm

Crashes as soon as I add the Ice Cream Shoppe. Every time.

Herodotus
Posts: 809
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 7:05 pm
Location: England

Postby Herodotus » Sun May 10, 2009 12:54 pm

Have you applied the latest patch?

pcgamer2
Posts: 385
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 2:13 am
Location: California

Postby pcgamer2 » Sun May 10, 2009 2:13 pm

in Vista, crash every time, in XP, crash very rarely

MidrealmDM70
Posts: 693
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 4:57 pm
Location: USA, Arkansas

Postby MidrealmDM70 » Fri May 15, 2009 12:59 pm

Crashes when I exceed a certain city size, I can get larger by turning off
or reducing options. Its a new PC (well new to me) so I'm not sure how
predictable the crashes are yet.

Also on my previous PC it would freeze up (ALL the time) due to an
insufficient graphics card. However, I could still press the quick save
button, and 90% of the time this would save my game and I could
shut down and reload/resume where I had left off.
Of course it would usually crash again within 30 minutes or so.

=-=-=-
One more thing, last night the game would crash whenever I tried
to select a Sim who was carrying a 'daily dose' from the dosage facility
(I believe it is called that). I tried different maps, starting fresh, etc.
I even tried tracking a sim as he went into the building the game crashed.
I tried letting sims buy other things, they all worked fine, only those that
bought the daily dose, and even then only when I selected them

I was selecting the sims just as they came out of the dosage facility.
So I decided to leave them alone, I let a small city run for a little while
then started selecting people around town until I finally found one who
had a daily does, no crash. So it may have been a temporary glitch or
it may have been because I was selecting them too soon after buying
the dose. Don't know - but I thought it was strange enough to mention.

RemixedCat
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 7:58 am
Location: mianus,ct

Postby RemixedCat » Sun May 17, 2009 10:29 pm

does not play well with MS surface tables.... which IMO is the best platform for city builder games.... drag-n-drop with your hands!

any ways of releasing a patch for it. I have interaction with it for 2 more months only so ask away now... and I will not be able to touch it and grope it till next week. LOL

SamBC
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Only since adding patch 5...

Postby SamBC » Mon Jun 01, 2009 9:28 pm

I was running fine, with options turned right down. Then I installed patch 5, and some mods (all of which I have since deactivated). As soon as anything really starts happening (like people arriving and doing stuff), SCS crashes, sometimes freezing, with a windows "blah has crashed" message hidden by the game freeze, and sometimes it drops to the desktop to show the crash message.

There were no problems whatsoever until I updated to patch 5.

Happy to receive input ;)

Sam

SamBC
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Postby SamBC » Tue Jun 02, 2009 10:49 am

I've now updated my video drivers (nVidia), and Windows Vista is completely up-to-date. I want to reiterate that this problem only arose after installing update 5 (on a clean install).

I've also rememebered that, when the update was installing, a shell window appeared, and lots of file/folder not found messages whizzed past. Then the GUI appeared, a progress bar did stuff, and then it said it installed correctly.

Sam

MidrealmDM70
Posts: 693
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 4:57 pm
Location: USA, Arkansas

Postby MidrealmDM70 » Tue Jun 02, 2009 5:33 pm

"SamBC" wrote:I've now updated my video drivers (nVidia), and Windows Vista is completely up-to-date. I want to reiterate that this problem only arose after installing update 5 (on a clean install).

I've also rememebered that, when the update was installing, a shell window appeared, and lots of file/folder not found messages whizzed past. Then the GUI appeared, a progress bar did stuff, and then it said it installed correctly.


Can you re-install wihtout update 5 and does it run?

Are you installing in the default directory?

When you reinstalled update 5 did you get the same file/folder not found message? Is there anyway to tell what file/folder message it was?

Jacquou Le
Posts: 428
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 4:10 am
Location: Fort Smith, AR, USA.

Postby Jacquou Le » Sun Jun 07, 2009 10:32 pm

I voted: "every time"

I have to skip playing SCS (without Destinations) because of crashes, after Update #5.

Azeem
Posts: 3678
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 9:30 pm
Location: Hetepsenusret

Postby Azeem » Sun Jun 07, 2009 11:02 pm

Aside from floating buildings (which can be negated just by starting with a map with the most minimal terrain elevation variations), crashes for me have been extremely rare when I installed it on my newer laptop and my desktop. It crashed frequently only on the older laptop.

xav
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 11:33 pm

Postby xav » Thu Jun 25, 2009 12:49 am

it crashes everytime i play in less than 7 minutes during my session with my biggest city..

triggercut
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 4:00 pm

Postby triggercut » Tue Jul 14, 2009 3:17 am

"Jotbolger" wrote:Crashes as soon as I add the Ice Cream Shoppe. Every time.


Just wanted to add a "me too" to this. Crashes every single time in the tutorial when adding the Ice Cream Shoppe, completely duplicate-able. Every time. This only happens with Update 5 going.

Vista 64 here, 8gb RAM, E8400 CPU, 280 GTX GPU.

triggercut
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 4:00 pm

Postby triggercut » Tue Jul 14, 2009 6:00 am

Since I just got it working fine again, I thought I'd report back.

First off, the problem where the game crashes in the tutorial seems to be one of RAM allocation and Vista. If you're using Vista, be sure you've updated to Service Pack 1 (SP1). This contains lots of neat little fixes, including KB940105, which is an update to Vista on how it allows games to handle memory over 2gb of RAM.

I completely uninstalled SCS, then reinstalled it, then re-did Update 5, and it worked a charm.

MidrealmDM70
Posts: 693
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 4:57 pm
Location: USA, Arkansas

Possible Crash Solution

Postby MidrealmDM70 » Thu Jul 16, 2009 11:44 pm

Another thread discussed a problem (and solution) with update 5.

http://www.tiltedmill.com/forums/showthread.php?p=262107

Aparently there is an incomplete version of update 5 that is about 70 MB as opposed to the full version that is closer to 170 MB

If you have probelms after update 5 you might check to make sure that you have the functioning version.

nashuacatgreen
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 6:13 pm

Crash Poll

Postby nashuacatgreen » Wed Aug 19, 2009 7:11 pm

"Grinder" wrote:How often or not does Sim City™ Societies crash when you run the game?


Only when it is hotter than average in my apartment. When I leave my apartment I turn of the ac. It takes awhile to cool back down when I get home and turn it back on. :cool:

Rampancy
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 2:25 am

Postby Rampancy » Fri Sep 11, 2009 2:34 am

As more people vote on this poll a more accurate picture of the state of SC™S stability is emerging.


While I too have a crashing error, do not take undue stock in online polls such as this. Why would someone be in a technical support thread about crashing, if they didn't have problems?

eladimir
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 4:35 pm

Crashing

Postby eladimir » Tue Oct 06, 2009 6:24 pm

I happned to have posted in every category so I thought I'd at least finish up with a tech post.

Yeah my game crashes about once an hour but I love the game so I live with it. Got my autosave turned down to 5 mins so I never lose much in a crash.

MidrealmDM70
Posts: 693
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 4:57 pm
Location: USA, Arkansas

Postby MidrealmDM70 » Thu Oct 08, 2009 5:04 pm

"eladimir" wrote:I happned to have posted in every category so I thought I'd at least finish up with a tech post.

Yeah my game crashes about once an hour but I love the game so I live with it. Got my autosave turned down to 5 mins so I never lose much in a crash.



Does it do that even with smaller cities or only at larger cities?
Also does it tend to do it more after you let the game run for a while?

eladimir
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 4:35 pm

City size

Postby eladimir » Thu Oct 08, 2009 7:52 pm

yeah it doesn't really seem to be determined by city size that I've notice. I recent turned it down to medium settings (from high) and its been more stable. One crash per playing session ie 4 hours

MidrealmDM70
Posts: 693
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 4:57 pm
Location: USA, Arkansas

Postby MidrealmDM70 » Fri Oct 09, 2009 12:41 pm

"eladimir" wrote:yeah it doesn't really seem to be determined by city size that I've notice. I recent turned it down to medium settings (from high) and its been more stable. One crash per playing session ie 4 hours


I have to turn down the settings as my city gets bigger (especially cyber-punk and industrial with all the decorations and clouds of smog respectively) which is a shame because that means the bigger my city gets the less detail I get to see :(


Return to “Community Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests