CTD & Exception code 0xc0000005

For technical or performance related issues
Meghan
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2004 11:07 pm

CTD & Exception code 0xc0000005

Postby Meghan » Wed Jul 16, 2008 8:48 pm

So I've been enjoying SCS & SCS destinations but I've got a recurring problem where the game will run fine for an hour or two and then suddenly crashes with the generic "SimCity Societeis has encountered an error" message. This time I remembered to go and look up the error in the Event Viewer. So I'm posting it here hoping the exception code will ring a bell or two.

Also, I'll post my dxdiag too. Briefly, I'm running Vista Home Premium, AMD Athlon 3200, nvidia 6800gt, Audigy 4.


Error 7/12/2008 5:46:27 PM Application Error 1000 (100)

Log Name: Application
Source: Application Error
Date: 7/12/2008 5:46:27 PM
Event ID: 1000
Task Category: (100)
Level: Error


Description:
Faulting application SCSDestinations.exe, version 1.1.0.273, time stamp 0x48371f1b, faulting module SCSDestinations.exe, version 1.1.0.273, time stamp 0x48371f1b, exception code 0xc0000005, fault offset 0x00010000, process id 0x%9, application start time 0x%10.
Event Xml:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
<System>
<Provider Name="Application Error" />
<EventID Qualifiers="0">1000</EventID>
<Level>2</Level>
<Task>100</Task>
<Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
<TimeCreated SystemTime="2008-07-12T21:46:27.000Z" />
<EventRecordID>7127</EventRecordID>
<Channel>Application</Channel>
<Computer>Talon</Computer>
<Security />
</System>
<EventData>
<Data>SCSDestinations.exe</Data>
<Data>1.1.0.273</Data>
<Data>48371f1b</Data>
<Data>SCSDestinations.exe</Data>
<Data>1.1.0.273</Data>
<Data>48371f1b</Data>
<Data>c0000005</Data>
<Data>00010000</Data>
</EventData>
</Event>
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

pcgamer2
Posts: 385
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 2:13 am
Location: California

Postby pcgamer2 » Thu Feb 09, 2012 5:22 am

Today I've decided to track down my crashing issue in event log, and received the identical error report as the above (disregarding personalized information)

Faulting application name: SCSDestinations.exe, version: 1.1.0.273, time stamp: 0x48371f1b
Faulting module name: SCSDestinations.exe, version: 1.1.0.273, time stamp: 0x48371f1b
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x00010000
Faulting process id: 0x%9
Faulting application start time: 0x%10
Faulting application path: %11
Faulting module path: %12
Report Id: %13

- <Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
- <System>
<Provider Name="Application Error" />
<EventID Qualifiers="0">1000</EventID>
<Level>2</Level>
<Task>100</Task>
<Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
<TimeCreated SystemTime="2012-02-09T05:07:26.000000000Z" />
<EventRecordID>85461</EventRecordID>
<Channel>Application</Channel>
<Computer>pierce-PC</Computer>
<Security />
</System>
- <EventData>
<Data>SCSDestinations.exe</Data>
<Data>1.1.0.273</Data>
<Data>48371f1b</Data>
<Data>SCSDestinations.exe</Data>
<Data>1.1.0.273</Data>
<Data>48371f1b</Data>
<Data>c0000005</Data>
<Data>00010000</Data>
</EventData>
</Event>

My situation only differs in that my game crashes now within 30 seconds-30 mins (depending on which saved game i load...the more thats constructed in the city the worse it is) and Windows 7 64 bit, Intel core 2 quad q6600 ATI HD 5770 3gb ram

Does anyone have a possible theory?

pcgamer2
Posts: 385
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 2:13 am
Location: California

Postby pcgamer2 » Sat Feb 11, 2012 7:22 am

Today i ran SCS, and within 30 seconds as usual, crash..BUT... i got real crash message this time!

"runtime error R6025
- pure virtual function call "

Anyone know this one?

Keith
Posts: 9965
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby Keith » Sat Feb 11, 2012 8:48 pm

Check your video settings in the game and if it has a VSync option try turning that off or uncheck that option and restart the game. It may close the first time afterwards, just try again.

The problem seems to be related to programs written in Visual C++ from what I can gather.

You may want to try installing the Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable Package installs runtime components of Visual C++ Libraries required to run applications developed with Visual C++ on a computer that does not have Visual C++ 2010 installed.

http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?displaylang=en&id=5555

This is compatable with Windows 7 down to XP.

pcgamer2
Posts: 385
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 2:13 am
Location: California

Postby pcgamer2 » Sun Feb 12, 2012 6:33 am

I tried all your suggestions, but the issue remains. Only thing I could think of would be mods, but why would the game not crash until all the sudden I expand the city past a certain 300ish population and bam 30 seconds and gone.

Also, Windows Error Reporting:
Fault bucket 816281407, type 1
Event Name: APPCRASH
Response: Not available
Cab Id: 0

Problem signature:
P1: SCSDestinations.exe
P2: 1.1.0.273
P3: 48371f1b
P4: unknown
P5: 0.0.0.0
P6: 00000000
P7: c0000005
P8: 00002000
P9:
P10:

Keith
Posts: 9965
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby Keith » Sun Feb 12, 2012 9:45 am

Have you tried uninstalling and reinstalling? Beyond that I have no idea on what would be causing your problem.

pcgamer2
Posts: 385
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 2:13 am
Location: California

Postby pcgamer2 » Mon Feb 13, 2012 4:37 am

No but I was able to at least isolate the issue. I found that this is exclusive only to the city i been working on, something in the city is corrupt (I've loaded one of my old mod missing Southport arch with 120k population and skyscrapers, and after 10 minutes there was no crash, even with all the mod problems)

I noticed for a while though there seemed to be 2 broken sims in this new city, where their location is unknown, they wont die, and they always fall into rogue but never are to be seen. Maybe they are the criminal minds? Also in this city the crashing wasn't really that bad until i extended beyond a 300ish population. City doesnt crash in pause
Last edited by pcgamer2 on Mon Feb 13, 2012 4:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

Keith
Posts: 9965
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby Keith » Mon Feb 13, 2012 5:17 am

Corrupted save files will do that, I'm sure. Restarting from scratch and playing that city should take care of it. Unless you have an early incremental save you can go back to and restart from there.

pcgamer2
Posts: 385
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 2:13 am
Location: California

Postby pcgamer2 » Fri Feb 17, 2012 6:11 am

Well this is going to be fun to recreate...but guess all I can do...Thanks Kieth for all the help you been offering

pcgamer2
Posts: 385
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 2:13 am
Location: California

Postby pcgamer2 » Sat Feb 25, 2012 6:34 am

I recreated the same exact city 95% ish (wasn't fun to work with geometry to replicate) and the copy city crashes too! It started from scratch other than used same map from restart in the menu....

Keith
Posts: 9965
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby Keith » Sat Feb 25, 2012 7:08 am

The only thing I can say is to try a reinstall of the game.

pcgamer2
Posts: 385
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 2:13 am
Location: California

Postby pcgamer2 » Sat Feb 25, 2012 8:00 pm

and that didn't work.... :(

edit- i made a new city, all good, until i got built another quarter of the village now town, then crash with 412 residents. Seems like 400 is the cap before crashes happen, below that they are non existant.

I would understand it if it was 10k ish, but 400 is not resource intense at all
Last edited by pcgamer2 on Sat Mar 03, 2012 7:25 am, edited 2 times in total.

pcgamer2
Posts: 385
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 2:13 am
Location: California

Postby pcgamer2 » Sat Mar 03, 2012 8:23 am

Have one last ditch idea: Is there something wrong with actual building placements or save files?

Here's a link to the download of one of the crashing towns https://rapidshare.com/files/460990010/Ocèane_Coast.scs Can someone be kind enough to check if this city crashes on your system within 5 mins? The City is heavily modded, so make sure you got http://tiltedmill.com/forums/showthread.php?t=26938

pcgamer2
Posts: 385
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 2:13 am
Location: California

Postby pcgamer2 » Fri Aug 03, 2012 7:23 pm

Recently got a new laptop, and got my hopes up for SCS but now i get just some weird messages. Anyone know what I can do about this?

Image

Azeem
Posts: 3678
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 9:30 pm
Location: Hetepsenusret

Postby Azeem » Sat Aug 04, 2012 9:24 pm

Wonder if it's file corruption or an error in the installation?

Did you try uninstalling and completely deleting before re-installing?

pcgamer2
Posts: 385
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 2:13 am
Location: California

Postby pcgamer2 » Sat Aug 04, 2012 10:44 pm

The sad thing is, this is a whole brand new laptop with a fresh Windows 7 and everything else (new computer smell still in the air lol) and yet I just can't seem to catch a break with SCS. I can only hope either Windows 8 helps out, or I may just have corrupt install data.

I only got the one above once. I just get anything possible. Here is another one today (which happened surprisingly because on this run the gameplay was unusually buttery smooth)

Image

That should not be possible with 8gb of ram and 2gb of video ram.
Last edited by pcgamer2 on Sat Aug 04, 2012 11:07 pm, edited 3 times in total.

pcgamer2
Posts: 385
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 2:13 am
Location: California

Postby pcgamer2 » Fri Aug 17, 2012 5:53 pm

Interesting. I got DirectX out of error message using the directx9 that came with SCS :D (and at the time didn't realize it was using the intel hd 4000 by default which might of been that problem). But i decided to update the directx 9 version to the latest June 2010 http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=8109 and now i don't get the direct X out of memory after 15-20 min gameplay anymore, im back to the 30 second- 1 minute SCS has stopped working bs.

Faulting application name: SCSDestinations.exe, version: 1.1.0.273, time stamp: 0x48371f1b
Faulting module name: unknown, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x00000000
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0xa8953000
Faulting process id: 0x%9
Faulting application start time: 0x%10
Faulting application path: %11
Faulting module path: %12
Report Id: %13

I then looked through the settings and realized that my Nvidia 650m gt 2gb was playing hooky with SCS while poor intel was doing all the work! I quickly changed that, and when i launched a larger city like Cambria, just absolute effortless flow. No jittering, the game was as beautiful and clear as I've seen it, it was playing like a movie it was that crisp and smooth. Regardless that there was absolutely no struggle whatesoever, the g ame still crashes within 45 seconds. Online for the Exception code: 0xc0000005 I found this "Something is accessing memory that it shouldn't be trying to access. It could be a problem with it miscalculating the size of a buffer while loading and writing over the end of it." But what is possibly doing so?

And the mystery continues.

*edit* These past couple times on this new city it doesn't even crash the game anymore, it just will go into a deep freeze if ctrl alt delete isn't done in time. Only way to get it to get out of the mess is to hold the power button in the laptop and restart system. Final straw for me is when the laptop rebooted and I got several loud high pitched beeps. The system still booted successfully though so I hope everything is ok, but to prevent potential future damage, I'm officially putting SCS down for good. I guess its a good thing Simcity 5 is coming around, or perhaps I can see what all the hype of Anno 2070 is about. :(
Last edited by pcgamer2 on Mon Aug 20, 2012 10:53 pm, edited 4 times in total.


Return to “Community Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests