Page 1 of 1

[WIP] Ninjas!

Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2007 10:22 pm
by WolfwoodSama
Yes, ninjas have invaded Simcity! The Ninja Academy can be plopped after obtaining 15 Obedience and 20 Devotion. There is a 10% chance that a ninja will spawn on each visit, and an ability that unleashes 10 ninjas into the general public for 24 hours. These ninjas act like vigilantes and go after criminals and fighting monks.

Image

The mod features customs textures, portraits and gallery icons... and ninjas. Please download and comment!

Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2007 10:33 pm
by David Beebe

Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2007 10:37 pm
by WolfwoodSama
Damn, now I have to go tell my ninjas I'm leaving them to do a Tick mod...lol

Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2007 11:29 pm
by King Faticus
Any pirates to compliment them?

Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2007 11:35 pm
by WolfwoodSama
Soon, along with a few robot monkeys.

Posted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:45 am
by Mike Lattiak
Make sure you try an avoid replacing any files if you can. You can make an entirely new XML for everything you need in the localization folder. Just make sure to give the XML unique names (maybe NinjaText or something close to that).

Posted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:49 am
by WolfwoodSama
So, I can just make a new xml file in the Localization\en_us\ObjectText folder, name it whatever I want, and just fill it with this:

<BuildingTextTable>
<Building id="Ninja Academy">
<Name>Ninja Academy</Name>
<Name_Plural>Ninja Academies</Name_Plural>
<Description>A dark and secret place where skilled warriors gather to learn the ancient art of assassination.</Description>
<Buildingaction_name>Unlieash the Ninjas!</Buildingaction_name>
<Buildingaction_help>Unleash a wave of Ninjas upon your unsuspecting city</Buildingaction_help>
</Building>
</BuildingTextTable>

...and it will work?

EDIT: Just tested, and that's exactly what happened! Perfect, I'll have a release up within the next few minutes!

Posted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:55 am
by Alex Mullins
WolfwoodSama wrote:So, I can just make a new xml file in the Localization\en_us\ObjectText folder, name it whatever I want, and just fill it with this:

<BuildingTextTable>
<Building id="Ninja Academy">
<Name>Ninja Academy</Name>
<Name_Plural>Ninja Academies</Name_Plural>
<Description>A dark and secret place where skilled warriors gather to learn the ancient art of assassination.</Description>
<Buildingaction_name>Unlieash the Ninjas!</Buildingaction_name>
<Buildingaction_help>Unleash a wave of Ninjas upon your unsuspecting city</Buildingaction_help>
</Building>
</BuildingTextTable>

...and it will work?


Yes, mod files will be loaded in addition to what's in the game's folders and will overwrite any duplicate data.

Posted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 1:12 am
by Morpheus121073
Well not exactly true me and a few others been making some mods but some do not work, such as the road mod i made that makes the roads available from the start and also placable by choice, now if the files are in the original folder then they work but if i place them at the location where the mods normaly go then it simply does not show in the game, so there is something wrong there and yeah we double checked every single files, also checked for duplicates but still no show in game.

Posted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 2:24 am
by Agamemnus
Nice, but I found a typo: should be "Unleash the Ninjas!"

Posted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 3:03 am
by WolfwoodSama
Finished! only took me 12 tries to compile the package file. Anyway, everything has been fixed, nothing will be overwritten, and a typo has been corrected :p . Also, custom portraits and icons have been made, and the new texture works. Also, if a mod could pleeeeaaaase change the [WIP] in the thread title to [MOD] I'll update the first post with the attachment and new screenies! Enjoy and comment.

Posted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 8:15 pm
by Mike Lattiak
WolfwoodSama wrote:Finished! only took me 12 tries to compile the package file. Anyway, everything has been fixed, nothing will be overwritten, and a typo has been corrected :p . Also, custom portraits and icons have been made, and the new texture works. Also, if a mod could pleeeeaaaase change the [WIP] in the thread title to [MOD] I'll update the first post with the attachment and new screenies! Enjoy and comment.


Nice work WolfwoodSama -- but you forgot to set a model for the Ninjas. They currently come out as cubes!

I noticed you created a <SimModelSet name="Set: Ninja"/>

You'll need to make a new Model Sets.XML and setup a Sim Model to go with that set! For example:

<SimModel name="Ninja">
<Model name="SC5_M_MadScientist_M"/>
</SimModel>

That is, if you wanted your Ninja to have the same model as a mad scientist...