I still cannot install Beta on Steam

Feedback, suggestions and general discussion on Hinterland
aeval99
Posts: 223
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 8:20 pm
Location: 3rd rock on the left

I still cannot install Beta on Steam

Postby aeval99 » Mon Jan 12, 2009 7:26 pm

Is anyone else still unable to install Hinterland Beta on Steam? I uninstalled Steam and now cannot get the game to reinstall. Other games work fine, including the Hinterland release version.

I'm stumped. :(

aramann
Posts: 472
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 1:49 pm
Location: Ohio, where all is strange and vague
Contact:

Postby aramann » Mon Jan 12, 2009 7:49 pm

Me! Me!!
I'm HATING this as I'm DYING to play as an Orc but can't even download the stupid thing!

tobing
Posts: 950
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Bruchsal/Germany
Contact:

Postby tobing » Mon Jan 12, 2009 8:12 pm

No update, unfortunately... there is something broken with the Hinterland beta!

JuliaSet
Posts: 1151
Joined: Mon May 17, 2004 12:24 am
Location: US
Contact:

Postby JuliaSet » Mon Jan 12, 2009 9:08 pm

Aev, if you uninstalled Steam, maybe you removed a cookie that allows you to view the beta game. Do you have your old key for beta Hinterland?

G

tobing
Posts: 950
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Bruchsal/Germany
Contact:

Postby tobing » Mon Jan 12, 2009 9:19 pm

It's not that, it's something wrong with the files on Steam. I have it on the PC, and that one can be updated, but I can't start the initial download on the laptop, where the normal Hinterland works fine, as well as CotN and Alexandria.

Miut
Posts: 713
Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: West Coast USA
Contact:

Postby Miut » Tue Jan 13, 2009 1:24 am

So sorry you are having problems. :( My install is OK so I don,t know what to say. :(

aramann
Posts: 472
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 1:49 pm
Location: Ohio, where all is strange and vague
Contact:

Postby aramann » Thu Jan 15, 2009 9:33 pm

I was able to install to my desktop which already had the Hinterland beta so it was really an upgrade.
I still cannot do a clean install from scratch on my laptop.

tobing
Posts: 950
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Bruchsal/Germany
Contact:

Postby tobing » Fri Jan 16, 2009 7:17 pm

For a workaround, try to copy the Hinterland folder from the PC to the laptop. With that (and some luck) Steam will seal with that like an update and it might work... in fact, I have moved my complete Steam installation from one disk to another that way, and it worked quite well.

aramann
Posts: 472
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 1:49 pm
Location: Ohio, where all is strange and vague
Contact:

Postby aramann » Sat Jan 17, 2009 12:06 am

Thanks tobing, I'll give it a try!

aeval99
Posts: 223
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 8:20 pm
Location: 3rd rock on the left

Postby aeval99 » Mon Jan 19, 2009 6:32 pm

I think I still have an old version installed on my laptop, maybe I will try moving the files over. It's odd that we can update, but not do a clean install.


Return to “Hinterland Beta (General)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest