To buy or not to buy, that is the question...

For technical or performance related issues
Scott Plante

To buy or not to buy, that is the question...

Postby Scott Plante » Sun Apr 04, 2010 2:13 am

So i'm a developer and have the gg SDK's etc etc and while perusing thru stuff i came across a link to hinterlands.. i think i'd seen it in various stages over the last few months/years etc, and i wanted to check it out..

so i downloaded the 'trial' (pre-orc lords) and tried to run it.. no joy.. so i've just spent the last 2 hours searching and going thru the various threads about how the game would not start on vista (i have vista 64). i run it and... nothing.. no gray 'screen' nothing.. i check the task manager and it's running at a steady 13% but there is no disk access.. (i checked the performance to look at disk accesses hoping to see if it was just a long read/write creation thing) nope..

just sits there spinning..

i've updated everything (drivers etc) including OpenAL.. it was a prob running the original engine sdk so i made sure it it was updated..

to make a long story even longer, my question is this:
has the retail version changed significantly from the 'trial'? (other than content etc). in other words, i can't get the trial to work at all, would the retail version with all of the patches and whatnot, work you think? is it worth even trying?

last but not least.. you guys have to put out a current demo.. something that shows the current state of the game.. time it out after 15 mins, who cares, i just wanna make sure it runs..

-Scott
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

mouse

Postby mouse » Sun Apr 04, 2010 2:34 am

Have you installed DX 9.0c? DX 11 is missing some files that are needed by the game.

Scott Plante

Postby Scott Plante » Sun Apr 04, 2010 11:31 am

of course ;)

kinda need that to develop with the engine ;)

Scott Plante

Postby Scott Plante » Wed Apr 07, 2010 2:02 pm

no ideas?

PantherX