Releasing troops?

Feedback, questions and general discussion regarding Nile Online
Salaman
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 11:37 am

Releasing troops?

Postby Salaman » Mon Dec 08, 2008 8:07 am

I wrongly assumed that you could have one monument per city.
So after getting troops trained up in my first city and capturing a plot, I started training troops in the second city. When I went to attack a plot though it told me I already have the maximum allowance of 1 monument.
I now have 200 soldiers in my second city eating away bread :-(
I can't send them out to be killed. I can't release them I think.

Anything I can do?

sakasiru
Posts: 1968
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 12:26 am
Location: Germany

Postby sakasiru » Mon Dec 08, 2008 8:11 am

You can send them to guard your first monument, where they can happyly starve if you don´t send them bread ;)

Salaman
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 11:37 am

Postby Salaman » Mon Dec 08, 2008 8:22 am

Aaaah. Clever. I have destroyed all barracks but they're still there.
Didn't realise I can send them off there.
That should sort it for now until the monument is activated.
:-)

happysmile
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 8:48 pm

Postby happysmile » Mon Dec 08, 2008 9:45 am

Agamemnus (#1 ranked) has two monuments. So what's the limit ? 1 or 2 monuments ? Does it depend on anything else like city level ?

tomnobles
Posts: 1182
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2007 12:01 am
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contact:

Postby tomnobles » Mon Dec 08, 2008 11:12 am

City levels could be a possibility. Reed working on it as the first waves of attacks were being sent is also a possibility. Anyone else have two or can anyone else attack more than one?

sakasiru
Posts: 1968
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 12:26 am
Location: Germany

Postby sakasiru » Mon Dec 08, 2008 12:42 pm

It could happen if you send your armies to two monuments at the same time.

But I guess you have to ask Agamemnus how he did it. I don´t know any other who has two, and none that has reported that bug yet *cough*... I think Reed pretty clearly stated that it´s not intended.

Tinkerbell
Posts: 5415
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 3:42 am
Location: San Diego, California
Contact:

Postby Tinkerbell » Mon Dec 08, 2008 2:40 pm

"happysmile" wrote:Agamemnus (#1 ranked) has two monuments. So what's the limit ? 1 or 2 monuments ? Does it depend on anything else like city level ?


Ag got his TWO Monuments by a freak of nature. Lucky stiff... :rolleyes:

Beamup
Posts: 525
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 3:46 pm
Location: Beamville, Osirispen (6N)

Postby Beamup » Mon Dec 08, 2008 2:54 pm

And I'm 99.99% certain he will be losing one of them when Reed gets around to it.

Hieronymus
Posts: 537
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 9:10 am
Location: Londinium, with the insane parakeets

Postby Hieronymus » Mon Dec 08, 2008 2:59 pm

"Beamup" wrote:And I'm 99.99% certain he will be losing one of them when Reed gets around to it.

Would be a shame if he lost all the troops & laborers assigned to that monument as well, wouldn't it...

Beamup
Posts: 525
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 3:46 pm
Location: Beamville, Osirispen (6N)

Postby Beamup » Mon Dec 08, 2008 3:09 pm

If Reed's nice, he'll transfer them to the other. (And maybe even ask which one Ag wants to keep before doing it.) But yeah, the potential is there.

Tinkerbell
Posts: 5415
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 3:42 am
Location: San Diego, California
Contact:

Postby Tinkerbell » Mon Dec 08, 2008 3:23 pm

We desperately need a poll to see if Reed should be nice ;)

Agamemnus
Posts: 2081
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 4:21 am

Postby Agamemnus » Mon Dec 08, 2008 3:40 pm

Ghiocel also has 2 monuments...

Rama-Seph
Posts: 227
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2008 2:44 pm
Location: Rama-Sephir, Osiristepey 57S

Postby Rama-Seph » Mon Dec 08, 2008 3:57 pm

"Hieronymus" wrote:Would be a shame if he lost all the troops & laborers assigned to that monument as well, wouldn't it...


It might be a real shame if we ALL lost what we've assigned...but Reed warned us that might happen. I suspect it WILL happen, since the present system (unlimited troops/workers at the monument, feed them if you wish, no reason to keep troops in town with barracks limits on capacity, no sacrifice of labor in city to work on monument) is unsupportable in the long run, and leads to terrible game balance. All previous hints & suggestions are that troops and workers will be sent from a city (one or more) to the monument but retain their city ownership, and apply toward the maximums at that city.

Deguar
Posts: 1017
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2008 9:51 am
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland the Bonnie

Postby Deguar » Mon Dec 08, 2008 4:01 pm

I [insert name here] do faithfully promise to list all potential/actual exploits and dodgy game mechanics as soon as I have my first 5k of limestone..honest..no I'm not crossing my fingers behind my back ;)

Deguakay
Hetephinushr of Raka (59N) Sandals and Leather
Rakheben of Amunsesh (49N) Sculptures and Bronze
Rawaset of Setger (80N) Jewelry and Gold

Reed
Posts: 988
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: The 'Mill (no longer)

Postby Reed » Mon Dec 08, 2008 4:03 pm

Dig into the DB to be nice to the #1 player with 2 monuments? Hmmm.... doesn't seem worth it. ;p

But yeah, anyone who managed to nab 2 monuments is getting one taken away...

Agamemnus
Posts: 2081
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 4:21 am

Postby Agamemnus » Mon Dec 08, 2008 4:07 pm

"Reed" wrote:Dig into the DB to be nice to the #1 player with 2 monuments? Hmmm.... doesn't seem worth it. ;p

But yeah, anyone who managed to nab 2 monuments is getting one taken away...


:(


* How do we (there are two of us with 2 monuments) know which one?

* Would it be possible to implement the monument exchange first? I really would love to move all my guys out of the monument that's getting taken away... :(

Rama-Seph
Posts: 227
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2008 2:44 pm
Location: Rama-Sephir, Osiristepey 57S

Postby Rama-Seph » Mon Dec 08, 2008 4:16 pm

If people are moved out of the monuments (as I said above I suspect they will all need to be emptied or assigned to cities somehow) I'd do it uniformly, such as: All laborers get erased (they've regenerated in our cities already). All troops get reassigned to the capital up to the barracks limit there, anything over that gets erased (or if Reed's feeling nice AND ambitious, he assigns them to 2nd city up to limit, then 3rd, then erases extras). But all this is speculation, clearly Reed has something planned, and until he tells us the next step we're just blindly guessing.

Agamemnus
Posts: 2081
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 4:21 am

Postby Agamemnus » Mon Dec 08, 2008 4:26 pm

"Rama-Seph" wrote:If people are moved out of the monuments (as I said above I suspect they will all need to be emptied or assigned to cities somehow) I'd do it uniformly, such as: All laborers get erased (they've regenerated in our cities already). All troops get reassigned to the capital up to the barracks limit there, anything over that gets erased (or if Reed's feeling nice AND ambitious, he assigns them to 2nd city up to limit, then 3rd, then erases extras). But all this is speculation, clearly Reed has something planned, and until he tells us the next step we're just blindly guessing.


I think the best way is to give us an exchange and a grace period to send back our military units. About the laborers, I dunno...

King Faticus
Posts: 4230
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 1:20 am

Postby King Faticus » Mon Dec 08, 2008 4:31 pm

nah I vote just delete them ;)

Agamemnus
Posts: 2081
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 4:21 am

Postby Agamemnus » Mon Dec 08, 2008 4:45 pm

"King Faticus" wrote:nah I vote just delete them ;)


They would out vote you in a democracy. :p


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests