Show off your desktop thread

Off-topic discussions about everything else
RemixedCat
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 7:58 am
Location: mianus,ct

Postby RemixedCat » Mon May 18, 2009 1:22 am

Not cluttered for me! :D minimalist stuff makes me not want to touch it too much and it has me go through extras.. I like to have it all infront of me.

Amun Nefer
Posts: 3165
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 4:25 am
Location: New York, New York! If I can make it here--I'll make it-Anywhere! It's up to you New York, New York!

Postby Amun Nefer » Mon May 18, 2009 1:23 am

Jeez you call that cluttered? You should see my mom's and my dad's desktops. FULL. :eek:

Ramzez
Posts: 203
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 12:27 am
Location: Ramsis: 1N 2N 20S Theoris

Postby Ramzez » Mon May 18, 2009 2:12 am

My solution is just to create a desktop items folder. Most of the stuff that gets onto my desktop is only used once, so it just saves me figuring out if I do or do not need something.

pcgamer2
Posts: 385
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 2:13 am
Location: California

Postby pcgamer2 » Fri May 22, 2009 2:36 am

Image

im kinda weird, i prefer to shut all graphic effects and cautious of system usage in windows, in mandriva i use the "bloated" window manager (kde4) and blast out AA fonts, graphic effects, and lol still Mandriva is still much faster, but it may just be XP is i386 and my mandriva install was x86_64, but still trying to just access programs windows is just more annoying it seems to take me more time with windows interface to get things done

RemixedCat
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 7:58 am
Location: mianus,ct

Postby RemixedCat » Fri May 22, 2009 5:38 am

Pssssst... if your graphics card supports aero use it! your gfx card takes over the rendering and frees up your cpu for doing other things!

not using aero mode uses up your cpu drasically more.

pcgamer2
Posts: 385
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 2:13 am
Location: California

Postby pcgamer2 » Fri May 22, 2009 2:19 pm

"RemixedCat" wrote:Pssssst... if your graphics card supports aero use it! your gfx card takes over the rendering and frees up your cpu for doing other things!

not using aero mode uses up your cpu drasically more.


lol i heard something like that for linux too, and thats why i always try to use KDE4 blasted effects from this

[...]the real "secret" is that KE4 is the only desktop for Linux that utilizes the GPU to render the desktop. As long as the system has a GPU and driver for Linux that is working, KDE4 is far and away the fastest desktop available for Linux, beating out even the "lightweight" desktops for speed.


i guess thats the same with aero from your post

pcgamer2
Posts: 385
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 2:13 am
Location: California

Postby pcgamer2 » Sat May 30, 2009 10:43 pm

Mandriva Gnome with Mac OS X pack

Image

tomnobles
Posts: 1182
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2007 12:01 am
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contact:

Postby tomnobles » Sat May 30, 2009 11:12 pm

The tinypic isn't very tiny. Took 2 min to download at 54 Mbps. :)

Linux dosen't use prt scr?

Nice Desktop though.

RemixedCat
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 7:58 am
Location: mianus,ct

Postby RemixedCat » Sun May 31, 2009 1:21 am

Yes, you are very correct on the desktop managers! Great find! :D

pcgamer2
Posts: 385
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 2:13 am
Location: California

Postby pcgamer2 » Sun May 31, 2009 8:23 pm

"tomnobles" wrote:The tinypic isn't very tiny. Took 2 min to download at 54 Mbps. :)

Linux dosen't use prt scr?

Nice Desktop though.


i have been so used to using tiny pic i just use it for everything

linux does support print screen in general, but mandriva does not support the key macro, you have to use take snapshot or screenshot program (included in gnome or kde edition) to do it.

right now im using windows 7 solo because i am learning vector graphics so i need adobe CS3, and linux can't run it,and inkscape is nothing close to industry standard is and is still in 0.46 version

plus i do miss SCS too

pcgamer2
Posts: 385
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 2:13 am
Location: California

Postby pcgamer2 » Mon Jun 08, 2009 3:49 am

well no matter how pissed i get with mandriva and run away, i always run back to mommy and she always happy to accept me back (besides mandriva runs sims 3 like poo)

Image

Image

Ramzez
Posts: 203
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 12:27 am
Location: Ramsis: 1N 2N 20S Theoris

Postby Ramzez » Thu Jun 11, 2009 2:50 am

Can you guess where this is? :D

Image

markedisonchua
Posts: 442
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 12:50 am
Location: Chemaphy Slaying Problem Market and Cyberwarface Office

Postby markedisonchua » Thu Jun 11, 2009 7:27 am

Sex stuff for your desktop will be a good sizzle...
Green and blue for ambience... ^_^
Man without sex is a clueless animal

RemixedCat
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 7:58 am
Location: mianus,ct

Postby RemixedCat » Sun Jun 14, 2009 2:22 pm

priveldge or one of the many clubs in ibiza or at a sensation event! I love that kinda music!

tomnobles
Posts: 1182
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2007 12:01 am
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contact:

This is for Amun

Postby tomnobles » Thu Jun 25, 2009 1:09 am

Notice how fast it loads. :rolleyes:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Amun Nefer
Posts: 3165
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 4:25 am
Location: New York, New York! If I can make it here--I'll make it-Anywhere! It's up to you New York, New York!

Postby Amun Nefer » Thu Jun 25, 2009 1:48 am

Now that's a great pic! :D

pcgamer2
Posts: 385
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 2:13 am
Location: California

Postby pcgamer2 » Mon Sep 14, 2009 4:14 am

first a bit shakey of E17, its starting to grow on me every minute i use it.

Image

Tinkerbell
Posts: 5415
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 3:42 am
Location: San Diego, California
Contact:

Postby Tinkerbell » Mon Sep 14, 2009 12:39 pm

New Vista Gaming SuperComputer ~ Empty Desktop. :eek:

I don't even have a picture there yet & pitifully tiny amount of shortcuts. :D

Definitely need to work on this & install more of my games.

...soooo embarassing...

:o

Older version of this thread ==> Let's play post your desktop again.. There are even older versions too! :D
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Tinkerbell on Mon Sep 14, 2009 12:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

thechris
Posts: 383
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 8:52 pm
Location: on your screen

Postby thechris » Mon Sep 14, 2009 8:18 pm

ok so far theres only 2 ppl that play WOW
amazing how many people have other TM games lol

PantherX
Posts: 1113
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 7:00 am
Location: The Beautiful Monterey Bay California

Postby PantherX » Tue Sep 15, 2009 2:35 am

Not everyone keeps all their icons on the desktop. ;)
O-my, I see I currently have 21 game icons on the desktop while I have over 35 Games installed (not counting the MS games that come with XPpro SP3)

I was going to say that WOW was one of the icons not on my desktop because it was in my quicklaunch. But as it turns out I uninstalled WOW about 2 months ago. After many hours leveling up (almost 2 years and 3 toons) I found that I hated the end-game and quit playing. I sure miss my friends there though.

:cool:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Return to “The Outside World”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests