In Love with Win7

Off-topic discussions about everything else
Karter
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2004 4:07 am
Location: Portland, Oregon
Contact:

In Love with Win7

Postby Karter » Thu Dec 31, 2009 7:04 am

After years of moaning and groaning about VISTA <two snaps of the fingers> "HATED IT !!"

when my roomies computer (from HP running Vista) hd crashed
we installed a new 1TB hd and were left with the choice of
reinstalling Vista, an old copy of XP SP3 or making the plunge into Windows 7

From the day he had gotten the system, he begged me to load XP and dump Vista in the trash
I was skeptical to do so, new machine, HP warrantees, etc, etc, etc...

but not nearly as skeptical as getting Windows 7
Vista had been such a disappointment, I almost became ill just thinking about it

After much inner turmoil, I bit my lip and took the plunge... I purchased Windows 7 Professional

:D :D I am in LOVE, LOVE, LOVE with it, it's almost as good as puppy love :D :D



I am so impressed, I can't believe the difference over Vista, or XP for that matter
this is truly worth the upgrade, MicroSoft nailed this one right on the head

I won't get into all of the details now, there are too many
but let me say, this improves every aspect of Windows,
its like XP and Vista rolled into one with more power under the hood and even more just waiting to be released..

Pros: It does everything, faster, better and sleeker <--'is that a word' :confused:

Cons:
You need lots of that RAM stuff and fairly healthy system to run it
........ you have to dig to learn it's inner secrets, but won't be disappointed

Note: if you get it and get confused with the interface,
trust me, you can set it up to act and look just like Vista or XP or your own unique interface... Its just not obvious how to do it
here is a great site for Tweaks, Tips and Tricks http://www.sevenforums.com/

<Karter gives a nod of the head> and <a tilt of the hat>


Good job MicroSoft
:)
Last edited by Karter on Thu Dec 31, 2009 9:40 am, edited 4 times in total.

Tinkerbell
Posts: 5415
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 3:42 am
Location: San Diego, California
Contact:

Postby Tinkerbell » Thu Dec 31, 2009 4:25 pm

Howdy, Karter!

My Vista Home Premium 64 is so GREAT, my free W7 upgrade disks that came later (with much required hoops to jump through first) with my new Gaming SuperComputer remain sitting here glaring at me.

...gotta dewit, but I'm a Proud Computer Dummy & Coward...

:D

Karter
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2004 4:07 am
Location: Portland, Oregon
Contact:

Postby Karter » Thu Dec 31, 2009 10:08 pm

Hey Tink <happy holidays by the way>

I am curious, I got the Pro version because I wanted/needed XPMode

but I was wondering does the Premium version allow you to do backups?
not just make the restore points, but the entire systems backup?

it would be under All Programs > Maintenance > Backup and Restore

thanks :)

Tinkerbell
Posts: 5415
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 3:42 am
Location: San Diego, California
Contact:

Postby Tinkerbell » Thu Dec 31, 2009 11:13 pm

I don't know, Karter. That is advanced stuff & waaay above my paygrade.

Keith
Posts: 9976
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby Keith » Thu Dec 31, 2009 11:26 pm

Here's a microsoft comparison of the various Vista versions:

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windows-vista/compare-editions/default.aspx

and the microsoft comparison of the Windows 7 versions:

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windows-7/compare/default.aspx

Karter
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2004 4:07 am
Location: Portland, Oregon
Contact:

Postby Karter » Sat Jan 02, 2010 2:32 am

"Keith" wrote:Here's a microsoft comparison of the various Vista versions:

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windows-vista/compare-editions/default.aspx

and the microsoft comparison of the Windows 7 versions:

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windows-7/compare/default.aspx


Thanks Keith,

yeah, I went through all of that...
It says Premium does, but I wondered if it just meant the backup registry and not the full system

:)

Keith
Posts: 9976
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby Keith » Sat Jan 02, 2010 4:56 am

From what I've read it can do a full system backup and recovery. It can make a backup image file of your hard drive. However, you cannot choose individual items to restore, it's all or nothing.

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows7/Back-up-and-restore-frequently-asked-questions

If you want to backup to a network location, say on your company's central server, network attached storage, or another computer on your network, you'll need Windows 7 Professional or Ultimate.

Czech Centurian
Posts: 458
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2004 7:17 pm
Location: South Africa

Postby Czech Centurian » Sat Jan 02, 2010 10:37 am

"Karter" wrote:Hey Tink <happy holidays by the way>

I am curious, I got the Pro version because I wanted/needed XPMode

but I was wondering does the Premium version allow you to do backups?
not just make the restore points, but the entire systems backup?

it would be under All Programs > Maintenance > Backup and Restore

thanks :)


I have Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit and its asking me to set up a back-up schedule. It is under All Programs > Maintenance > Backup and Restore.

I'm loving my W7 64-bit as well. Skipped XP and Vista lol. :D

Jacquou Le
Posts: 428
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 4:10 am
Location: Fort Smith, AR, USA.

Postby Jacquou Le » Sat Jan 02, 2010 8:31 pm

Wow, the planet moves faster my life trend. I'm still using XP + SP2 (two). I'm so behind :o

Kosminhotep
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 7:09 pm
Location: Bastitja 2S

Postby Kosminhotep » Sat Jan 02, 2010 8:34 pm

"Czech Centurian" wrote:Skipped XP


Really? Whoa! How?

PantherX
Posts: 1113
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 7:00 am
Location: The Beautiful Monterey Bay California

Postby PantherX » Sun Jan 03, 2010 12:19 am

"Czech Centurian" wrote:Skipped XP and Vista lol. :D


That's not too bad of a change from Win2000 to Windows7 or have you been using a Linux distro?

I can hardly remember Win2000/98/ME, but still remember most DOS commands for some reason.
:cool:

Karter
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2004 4:07 am
Location: Portland, Oregon
Contact:

Postby Karter » Sun Jan 03, 2010 9:34 pm

"Keith" wrote:From what I've read it can do a full system backup and recovery. It can make a backup image file of your hard drive. However, you cannot choose individual items to restore, it's all or nothing.

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows7/Back-up-and-restore-frequently-asked-questions

If you want to backup to a network location, say on your company's central server, network attached storage, or another computer on your network, you'll need Windows 7 Professional or Ultimate.


AAaaahhhhhhhh, okay that makes sense, Thanks :)

Czech Centurian wrote:I have Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit and its asking me to set up a back-up schedule. It is under All Programs > Maintenance > Backup and Restore.

I'm loving my W7 64-bit as well. Skipped XP and Vista lol.


hey wer you one of them, thar Apple eaters I'd dun herd abouts
what does ya means, yer dun skipped some of thos MicreeOsofts programmees :) LOL


Return to “The Outside World”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest