lock up on big mission

For technical or performance related issues
Ouijdani
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2008 12:08 pm
Location: Near an active volcano

lock up on big mission

Postby Ouijdani » Sat Nov 22, 2008 9:48 pm

The "kill or capture all enemies" type of mission locks up on me about 1/2 way thru. The capture missions don't seem to do it.

I'm running XP on an Intel Core 2 6400 @ 2.13 GHz with 2 gig memory and a GEForce 7950 GT.

Ouij

Matt Zimmitti
Posts: 214
Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Brighton, MA

Postby Matt Zimmitti » Mon Nov 24, 2008 1:22 am

I will take a look at this in the morning. It may stemming from the same bad place that the slowdowns are coming from. Possibly not though. We'll investigate both.

Thanks for the heads up.

Ouijdani
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2008 12:08 pm
Location: Near an active volcano

Postby Ouijdani » Mon Nov 24, 2008 3:58 am

Actually, I was complaining about the slowdown on the General board. The lockup is the end result of the slowdown. I decided this was a more appropriate place to post such things.

Ouij

chewie82
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2008 5:05 am

Postby chewie82 » Mon Nov 24, 2008 8:58 pm

Same thing is happening to me. Running on core 2 quad 6600 with 4 gigs of ram.

I have not been able to finish a long mission due to the slow down.

Thanks for looking into this.

Matt Zimmitti
Posts: 214
Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Brighton, MA

Postby Matt Zimmitti » Mon Nov 24, 2008 9:10 pm

Ok, this is a little weird. I have a similar rig (core 2 quad) to both you guys at home and have had no slowdowns or lockups, though I'm generally dropping in and out of the game pretty frequently to verify specific things. I'll see about soaking it for a while tonight and see what I come up with.

We're on the trail here.

chewie82
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2008 5:05 am

Postby chewie82 » Tue Nov 25, 2008 12:11 am

When i first start the game, it's great. After about 30-40 mins, the game start getting choppy. At around one hour, it takes about 6-7 seconds to highlight a soldier after I click on it.

Matt Zimmitti
Posts: 214
Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Brighton, MA

Postby Matt Zimmitti » Tue Nov 25, 2008 3:28 pm

Hey all,

It would be really helpful for you guys to post and attach the text file output from a dxdiag. I cooked the game last night for quite a while and had no issues. We know there is something in there that isn't right but we need a better sense of the configs we are dealing with.

Thanks guys,
Z

Ouijdani
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2008 12:08 pm
Location: Near an active volcano

Postby Ouijdani » Tue Nov 25, 2008 10:53 pm

You want the entire thing posted here?

I ran one last night or Sunday night and can post/send it when I get home.

Ouij

Matt Zimmitti
Posts: 214
Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Brighton, MA

Postby Matt Zimmitti » Wed Nov 26, 2008 12:23 am

Just attach the txt file to a post. Please do not copy/paste it into the message itself. Yes, whenever you get a chance I'd appreciate it.

Thanks =)

Ouijdani
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2008 12:08 pm
Location: Near an active volcano

Postby Ouijdani » Wed Nov 26, 2008 2:13 am

Here it is.

Ouij
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Matt Zimmitti
Posts: 214
Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Brighton, MA

Postby Matt Zimmitti » Wed Nov 26, 2008 4:01 pm

Thanks =)

Matt Zimmitti
Posts: 214
Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Brighton, MA

Postby Matt Zimmitti » Wed Nov 26, 2008 4:18 pm

OK, first and foremost we need to isolate drivers as a potential issue. Yours are 2+ years old both in terms of video and audio.

We are working on optimizations on our end that will likely help things but you may not see any effect w/o updating your drivers.

Ouijdani
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2008 12:08 pm
Location: Near an active volcano

Postby Ouijdani » Thu Nov 27, 2008 1:25 am

I noticed that my drivers were original equipment when I glance thru the DxDiag, so I updated them last night. I hope to get time to break out the game and give it a try tonight.

Ouij

Ouijdani
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2008 12:08 pm
Location: Near an active volcano

Postby Ouijdani » Thu Nov 27, 2008 2:17 am

I could not find a newer sound driver. I suppose that could mean my sound card is obsolete. :(

Ouij


Return to “Community Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest