New version of Hinterland up on Steam

Feedback, suggestions and general discussion on Hinterland
User avatar
Jeff Fiske
Posts: 394
Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 4:00 pm

New version of Hinterland up on Steam

Postby Jeff Fiske » Tue Jan 06, 2009 10:23 pm

A new version of Hinterland is on steam now, for testing only. Not much difference, but the bugs with humans should be taken care of, as should any inability to finish a game.

Please enter any bugs in ET- or at least put them in the tech forum. You can assign any bugs to me.

Known issues-
Exploit with upgrading manor.
Please ignore the Got Game screen if you see it.


Enjoy.

aramann
Posts: 472
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 1:49 pm
Location: Ohio, where all is strange and vague
Contact:

Postby aramann » Wed Jan 07, 2009 12:43 am

I cannot download this on my laptop. Give me a few minutes to give my small human a bath and I'll post my dxdiag. Just seems that download does not happen at all for some reason. not even fragments of files or anything found.

Azeem
Posts: 3678
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 9:30 pm
Location: Hetepsenusret

Postby Azeem » Wed Jan 07, 2009 3:40 am

Nice. I'll get right to testing this coming Friday and the weekend. :)

mouse
Posts: 1723
Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 5:21 am

Postby mouse » Wed Jan 07, 2009 2:15 pm

Will grab it in a bit thanks Jeff :p
Ok first thoughts play Orcs again though I know the maps are random the first two maps had way more skeltons (not meat there) than earlier maps. The skeltons were in 3 out of 4 of the level 1 sites since food is always a issue with orcs in the early game this is an issue :(
Last edited by mouse on Wed Jan 07, 2009 3:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

aramann
Posts: 472
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 1:49 pm
Location: Ohio, where all is strange and vague
Contact:

Postby aramann » Wed Jan 07, 2009 5:20 pm

Can someone tell my small brain how to find a dxdiag on vista? <grumbles> I hate vista!!!!

vic_4
Posts: 2350
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 9:11 am
Location: Rome Italy

Postby vic_4 » Wed Jan 07, 2009 5:43 pm

start and type in search Dxdiag.

aramann
Posts: 472
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 1:49 pm
Location: Ohio, where all is strange and vague
Contact:

Postby aramann » Wed Jan 07, 2009 6:16 pm

Thanks!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

tobing
Posts: 950
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Bruchsal/Germany
Contact:

Postby tobing » Wed Jan 07, 2009 6:25 pm

Steam download of Hinterland beta does not work.

aramann, that's a problem of Steam and files there, not with your laptop...

mouse
Posts: 1723
Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 5:21 am

Postby mouse » Wed Jan 07, 2009 7:56 pm

aramann nothing to do with Steam but you might want to update your video and sound drivers ;) Steam must have gone down because I didn't have any trouble getting Hinterland update this morning.

aramann
Posts: 472
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 1:49 pm
Location: Ohio, where all is strange and vague
Contact:

Postby aramann » Wed Jan 07, 2009 9:33 pm

Thanks mouse - it's brand new so haven't really updated much of anything yet. I'll get on it though!

I've tried several times to download beta to this. I can get the original game, just not beta.

And yes, each time i have deleted every bit of the regular hinterland.

mouse
Posts: 1723
Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 5:21 am

Postby mouse » Wed Jan 07, 2009 11:39 pm

Hmmm that's strange can't imagine what's blocking it but Vista is still mostly a strange land to me ;)

tobing
Posts: 950
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Bruchsal/Germany
Contact:

Postby tobing » Thu Jan 08, 2009 6:45 am

It's not Vista, I have XP and can't get HL beta, only the normal Hinterland version. On the other PC, I already have Hinterland beta, and update works. So there's a problem that only affects the initial download.

aeval99
Posts: 223
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 8:20 pm
Location: 3rd rock on the left

Postby aeval99 » Thu Jan 08, 2009 7:12 pm

I also can't seem to download the beta. I reinstalled Steam for an unrelated issue and now I can't get the beta to reinstall, only the released version.

Do I need another key or something? Or is this entirely on their end.

On a random note. Is anyone else unable to see their community page? :(

tobing
Posts: 950
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Bruchsal/Germany
Contact:

Postby tobing » Thu Jan 08, 2009 7:51 pm

Well, I can see my community page, and yours, too. Playing Left 4 Dead? :p :eek:

aeval99
Posts: 223
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 8:20 pm
Location: 3rd rock on the left

Postby aeval99 » Thu Jan 08, 2009 8:08 pm

Nope. My partner in crime is working. :(

I haven't been able to get to my community page in steam for over a week now. The only way I can get to my profile page is to do a search form someone on my friends list, and then click on my name on their page.

Grrrrr!!

aramann
Posts: 472
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 1:49 pm
Location: Ohio, where all is strange and vague
Contact:

Postby aramann » Fri Jan 09, 2009 1:50 am

This is definitely frustrating.... :mad: :(


Return to “Hinterland Beta (General)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests